1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OC'ing my Celeron 420

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by jerred121, Jun 28, 2010.

1. jerred121

jerred121 Regular member

Figured I'd post here since I'm practically building a new PC. So I don't have much money right now, but I'd like to put together a decent PC for mostly playing RTS's with decent graphics and good performance. I am a PC tech, but my knowledge when it comes to performance, graphics and particularly over clocking is extremely limited or non-existent... Here is what I've got to work with:

Celeron 420 1.6 ghz CPU - I've read that this CPU can be OC'ed nicely.

Stock Lenovo MB - I figured if I'm doing any OC'ing I'll need to buy a new one - I'm just not sure what I'm looking for when it comes to OC'ing. Any suggestions?

2 GB DDR2

Plenty of peripherals like DVD-RWs, HDDs, etc...

So I figure I'm looking at getting the new MoBo, decent PSU, decent GFX card, and good cooling solution (fan/heatsink), I just need some advice because I have no idea what to get. I suppose there are some decent bang-for-you-buck MBs and GFX cards out there that will enable me to OC, but I've been away from the PC game for too long (outside mundane tasks like win installs and data recovery) and I just need some advice and to be pointed in the right direction. Thanks for any help.

2. KillerBug

KillerBug Active member

I would look for a used 775 mainboard on ebay; no reason to buy a new board for such old tech. Gigabyte, DFI, and evga all make good overclocking boards...but generally, Gigabyte is the best if you can get the features you want in one of their boards.

I don't know what cooler you have...if it is the stock cooler for that processor, you will need a much larger one to push that chip to the limit. You have a lot of options on 775, and I would go with ebay here as well.

3. jerred121

jerred121 Regular member