1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

media server questions

Discussion in 'Media tanks' started by pspweazl, Feb 17, 2012.

1. pspweazl

pspweazl Member

So I bought a new WNDR3700 N600 router which has USB for connecting a harddrive. I am wanting to connect a new 1.5TB HDD (buying this week) and want to back up my DVD collection to the HDD. What I am hoping to do is connect the HDD to the router and stream it to the devices throughout my home (I have 3 Xbox 360's, a PS3, 2 CP's and am hoping to get something such as a networked blu-ray player). The question is: Is there anything I need to do special to start streaming this media? The other question is does it still stream from my main PC or directly from the router to each DLNA compatible device? Also do I need to do anything to my X-box's or PS3 to make this work? I am a complete noob at this so am completely in the dark, so if some kind person could take me under their wing and guide me in the right direction that would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks all.

2. barborian

barborian Member

hi firstly check that the usb on your router is not for 3g dongles only as they usually are, to stream data across your network you need to put your hard drive in a nas drive caddy which allows you to connect to your router using an rj45 cable then the hard drive will show up as a network drive for all users to access. the other way to do it is to buy a sumvision/traxdata mkv media player enclosure with networking {usb and rj45} which you can put your hard drive into {as long as it is sata} and then you can play films directly to your telly via hdmi and it will network them to all other comupters in your houshold which will eliminate the need for a blu ray player. sumvision and traxdata media player enclosures are available from ebuyer and amazon. i have the sumvision mkv2 media player and it is superb

3. ps355528

ps355528 Active member