1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FLAC archive to hard drive

Discussion in 'Audio' started by g725s, Jul 10, 2010.

1. g725s

g725s Member

Hello,
    I am wanting to archive my music CDs to hard drive. Being somewhat new to saving audio I have done a few days of research and beleive I am set on going with FLAC as the file format and possibly using a program like Media Monkey to organize my collection. I want to be able to have flexibility of burning a backup CD if needed or converting to another file type for media players and such. And easily moving my collection from drive to drive if needed.

I am fairly computer savy but don't have much if any computer audio experience. I have no hands on experience with FLAC or Media Monkey as of yet. And very little with Windows Media Player or iTunes for that matter. I was using a Mac for the past few years but am again back on a PC that I built. But during my time on a Mac I found it that iTunes made it hard to do thing like burn a backup or use a different style media player other than my ipod. And if I remember correctly it did not allow me to rip some CD to my drive. I do like all the metadata, and cover art informataion that iTunes, or possibly WMP, provides you with. But it sounds like I could get that with Media Monkey as well
    I would love to hear others ideas on saving or archiving your CD collection to hard drive.

2. k00ka

k00ka Regular member

Hi g725s!..Using flac format for CD archiving is a great choice(IMO)..It's what I use for my archive storage..Most, if not all SW media players support it as well as many HW one's..
    From the lossless flacs you can create/burn a copy just like your original CD, providing you rip using a ripper that utilizes secure & AccurateRip (e.g. EAC, dBPoweramp etc.