1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MP3's switched to WMA

Discussion in 'Audio' started by alsanchez, May 2, 2012.

1. alsanchez

alsanchez Member

Hi Guys

As a newbie I keep a low profile, but I really need some help here please. I had downloaded Audacity to make some ring tones. Recently I transferred my music CD's to an external drive to save room on my PC. After the transfer I went to play one of my songs which was on MP3 format and Audacity came up with the following error message.
    WMA file. Importers supporting such files are FFmpeg-compatible files, but none of them understood this file format.
    Can someone explain this in simple terms that I can understand? Did I mess up all my library, or is there someway I can recover these songs and get them to play?
    Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

Al

2. scorpNZ

scorpNZ Active member

Nah it would require conversion of all songs surely,right clicking on any song then hit properties should give you the info as to whether it's mp3 or not,however mediainfo would be a quicker way,then all you do is right click audio file then hit mediainfo.

Me thinks try another media player like vlc or perhaps xion

3. Mez

Mez Active member

Scorp is correct that a copy will not change the file format. Audacity ought to be able to read an mp3 file unless you confused it by giving miss information. It is possible you corrupted some of your music when you copied it. This is more easily done if the connection was a USB drive and not a eSATA connection. Data must be converted to USB information in your CPU then the process is reversed before it can be saved while eSATA connections do no converting.