1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RE: MKVExtractGui/ How to burn a high quality dvd with subs

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by juiz7, Feb 17, 2010.

1. juiz7

juiz7 Member

----------------------------HELP WANTED ----------------------------

MKVExtractGUi guide

I used this guide to extract the subtitles from my .mkv file and got this TrueType Font File (.TTF).

I want to know how do you burn a .mkv into a high quality dvd
    MPEG-2 or MPEG-4 (i'm not sure if mpeg-4 works on a standard dvd player)

and if possible AC3 audio (which is dolby digital surround sound)

with english subs that look just like/have the same font as the ones in the original .mkv file.

Someone please explain to me because it's been so frustrating trying to figure out how to burn it to a dvd. I'm new at this.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Also, every time I burn the dvd using Windows DVD Maker and play the dvd on my dvd player the sound comes out mono
    when I have a stereo surround sound tv.

The left and right sides cut off like 2 or three letters from the subs so then I have to shrink it on my Toshiba DVD player.

I use mkv2vob to convert and hardsub the videos for now but I want the original font/same subs.

Last edited: Feb 17, 2010
  2. attar

attar Senior member

As far as converting an MKV file to a DVD disk format that would be playable on a standalone DVD player, you can probably use FAVC or DVD Flick.
    The problem is with the subtitles.
    Your subtitles sound like they are .ass or .ssa format and these formats might be a problem (AFAIK, DVD Flick lists them as usable, but FAVC doesn't) - but you would have to test them to be sure.