1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blu ray drive issue

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by Xw2X, May 7, 2014.

1. Xw2X

Xw2X Member

So I'm a newb at installing blu ray drive. I noticed that my blu ray player can't play blue ray by default and requires a software for blu ray to work. The problem is that after I install the software it crashed my PC and ever since then every time I boot my OS it crashes at about 30 seconds even in safe mode. Did I do something wrong ?

2. rulisky

rulisky Regular member

What specific software did you install? Probably need to uninstall it. Try VLC. It is free and works perfectly. You could try DVDFab Media Player 2. I think it is free, too.

3. Xw2X

Xw2X Member

I thought it was the drivers to enable blu ray play. Does it usually play blu ray by default ? Also the software are cyber link power DVD and 3d stuff . I don't think the software are causing the crash but it only start happening after I install the software. Btw the software came with the blu ray drove itself. Also I just noticed another symptom. The programs I install does not appear on the "uninstall control panel "

Last edited: May 7, 2014
  4. rulisky

rulisky Regular member

Once you insert your disc, navigate to that drive and right click on it. Look for the Open With choice and choose your default program for that type of file. Or you can your open your Player, ie. VLC, and choose which file, folder, drive to play each time.

Try looking for the "Folder" created by the software on your Start button. Hopefully you will find an Uninstall choice there. Or navigate to the Folder of that program and look for an exe file like "unins000" for example. That would be the target uninstall file if there were an option under Add Remove Programs in your Control panel.