1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IFO, VOB, and BUP files

Discussion in 'Video - Software discussion' started by jagman55, Mar 11, 2005.

1. jagman55

jagman55 Member

Wonder if someone could help me? A friend gave me a folder of a VIDEO_TS that contains multiples VOB, IFO, and BUP files of the same DVD video. Have tried all my programs including Nero to burn it into a DVD so it can be played on a DVD player or on my PC but the files are all a piece of the same video. Nero will recognize a VOB, or a IFO file so was wondering:
    Do I have to join all these files together? If so, using what program? Then what program will burn a IFO and VOB file(s)??

Thanks as I am a real newbie at this

2. ScubaPete

ScubaPete Senior member

Hi jagman, welcome to aD,

You're right - they are all part of the same thing let's take a look at what we have ~

What is a VIDEO_TS Folder and why do I need it ?

Whenever you rip a DVD in a "File" mode you are going to wind up with a bunch of files - they are going to be .Bup's, .Ifo's and .Vob's. In order for DVD Shrink, Nero or most of the programs to accept these files they [bold]must be[/bold] in a folder, which is named "VIDEO_TS" - Some programs (like DVD Shrink) will create that folder for you. Other programs may only give you the above-mentioned files (your Bup's, .Ifo's and .Vob's files) in a loose pack. If the files are loose, then you must create a folder for them, and that folder must be titled, yes, you have it it's - -> VIDEO_TS, written exactly like that, in CAP's. When all the files are in that folder you can easily feed it to DVD Shrink, DVD2One, CloneDVD or Nero for additional processing or burning :D

What is a VIDEO_TS Folder and why do I need it ?