1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using Subtitles in Avi files

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by KjartanS, May 31, 2005.

1. KjartanS

KjartanS Member

Hello all of you dawners.
    Im new to all this divx, vidx 3ivx and all this stuff but I have a problem,
    I have a avi movie, and a have a seperate subtitle file ( .srt ), the movie is in chinese or something so i need this subtitle, but i have no idea how to view the movie with the subtitles! (btw im on a mac)

please help.

2. celtic_d

celtic_d Regular member

Use mplayer or VLC.

3. KjartanS

KjartanS Member

oh thanks, it works :)

4. KjartanS

KjartanS Member

oh thanks, it works :)

5. lumaom

lumaom Guest

celtic_d: I have the same problem for years and finally I tried your suggestion and it works. Now I need to burn my avi.movie with srt.subtitles? Would you know how to do that? If so, please send me few lines explaining the process. Thank you in advance

6. celtic_d

celtic_d Regular member

Not sure what burning app you use, but basically you just start an ISO data compiliation and drag the avi and srt over. Make sure that they are named the same for 1 srt or movie.01.srt, movie.01.srt/ movie.eng.srt, movie.fre.srt, etc. for multiple.

7. lumaom

lumaom Guest

celtic_d, I'm using Burn4free with excellent results. I will try your suggestion, although I'm not very clear about "start an ISO data compiliation". I understand how to drag the files with the proper extensions, but I can't see them to be "joined" at the burning stage. Anyway, there is nothing to lose by trying. I'll let you know. Thanks again!

8. celtic_d

celtic_d Regular member

Burn4Free? I thought that you were on a Mac? (Same problem as KjartanS (displaying subs on a Mac))

Burning won't join or alter the files in anyway. Burning just means taking something and burning it from one source to a CD/DVD or other optical disc.