1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I buy a DVR and use it without a service?

Discussion in 'Digital TV - United States & Canada' started by feefree, Jan 7, 2006.

1. feefree

feefree Member

I am just getting into this, so I don't fully know how any of this equipment works. I have been trying to ferret out my options for recording TV (and hopefully HD) while avoiding paying for a subscription. There is lots of information on building PVRs and on software for PCs. My question is, can I avoid the build-the-hardware side of the equation and buy a commercial DVR and use it without a service? Should it work out of the box? Do I need to (and will I be able to) add a software package (SageTV and BeyondTV) to make it work?

I'm guessing the easiest solution is just to get a lifetime subscription to Tivo, but I am worried about being reliant on a company that could go out of business. And I bet I could do this for less money and tailor it to what I want.

thanks,
    feefree

2. TimKizzle

TimKizzle Regular member

i would suggest a capture card for regular def TV, but im not sure about high def

3. codymax

codymax Member

D*sh has a pvr/dvr but you have to suscribe to there programing.
    Direct and Tivo parted ways a few months back (sept.?) direct now has their own pvr, again you need to suscribe.
    Tivo is a stand alone unit, but you guessed it, YOU NEED TO SUSCRIBE.
    Cable tv ?
    d*SH has a $5.00 monthly fee, Tivo is around 9-14 dollars a month, I don't know about Direct.

Hope this helps.

4. feefree

feefree Member

I found a product that is an HD receiver and DVR (LG 3410A) that doesn't require cable or satelite sercive, but it only has one ATSC tuner so you can't watch one show while recording another (and any other combo that requires two feeds). Also, it didn't fare so well in the user reviews I found online.