1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HOW TO: Upgrade your Xbox HDD (Super Tutorial)

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware boot discussion' started by chunkhead, Jul 12, 2007.

1. chunkhead

chunkhead Regular member

HOW TO: Upgrade your Xbox HDD

Lot of info about, still a lot of confusion. I will try to make this as simple as possible without getting to technical.

Firstly, If the following setup is too difficult for you, feel free to try the Chimp v2.4 method. I have no experience in this, however others have had results.

Chimp v2.4 Tutorial:
    http://www.xbox-hq.com/html/xbox-tutorials-260.html

Ok, what do we need

* Xbox
    * Torx 20, 15 and 10 screwdrivers
    * IDE Hard Drive
    * CD Burner\Writer
    * Xboxhdm v1.9
    * LiveInfo
    * Clean 5960 Dash files

All files can be found here...

http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/557450#3371151

With all that now in hand, we need to make sure we have the most important part of our operation...The EEPROM

The eeprom is held on a chip on the motherboard. It's a code that locks the HHD and MB together. The HDD is supplied with this code, without it the new HDD will be rejected!

* How do we get it? The easiest way is get it via a dashboard like EvoX. In order for you to get it, start the softmod procedure and stop at the following screen.

[​IMG]

* From this screen we have the ability to backup up the eeprom and also to FTP.

For instructions on how to Softmod: http://forums.llamma.com/viewtopic.php?t=9685

For instructions on how to FTP: http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/523607#3165659
    (Network settings for the Softmod dash are found in 'Settings' on the list, just scroll down.)

* Ok, once you have successfully backed up the eeprom, we need to FTP into the Xbox to get the eeprom file. Please refer to the FTP guide above if you are confused.