1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burn x264 movies to DVD

Discussion in 'HD DVD discussion' started by 2slick4u, Jan 30, 2008.

1. 2slick4u

2slick4u Member

ok im new to HD i have some movies in x264 codec i belive mkv files and i would like to burn it to DVD , so what do i do first most of the movies are from 4 gigs to 9 gigs where would i start first what is the best way to burn these movies to regular DVD and watch them on my HD TV

2. 2slick4u

2slick4u Member

and also would the picture quality be the same after converting x264 to avi if not what to do to have the same pic quality than you

3. DVDBack23

DVDBack23 Administrator Staff Member

Do you have an HDMI output in ur computer? It is the fastest and best way to play large 720 or 1080p rips on your HDTV :)

4. 2slick4u

2slick4u Member

yes i hane HDMI in tv and the hd upcoverter player

5. theridges

theridges Guest

you cant burn the x264 codec movies onto dvd and play them on a standalone dvd player it does not work...
    the only thing you can do is burn either xvid/divx or normal dvd and let the player upscale for you.

6. DVDBack23

DVDBack23 Administrator Staff Member

But does your computer have HDMI output? Because if it does just plug it right into your TV, as ridges is right with what he said :)

7. KARiJiNi

KARiJiNi Member

Best way is to hook your computer up via DVI/HDMI as this will give you the full resolution your HD display is capable of and the HD MKV's will be then the next determining factor. i.e. a 720p MKV (1280x720p) on a 1920x1080 display is upscaled.

However if you are stuck to a DVD player connected then you will probably be relying on an analogue connection and therefore the res/quality is restricted to that. The easiest way to convert MKV's to DVD's is with a program called ConvertXtoDVD available http://www.vso-software.fr/products/convert_x_to_dvd/