1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Easy DVD to Divx?

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by shalegac, Feb 23, 2008.

1. shalegac

shalegac Member

Hi guys,

I’m new to all of this converting files process. I’m wondering if there is a quick program out there that will allow me to convert a DVD I own to a DivX file that I can play on my PS3? I have tried looking before I posted anything but I am having a little trouble figuring out the quickest and easiest method. I am looking to scale down to about 700mb per movie so I can transfer my video directly onto the PS3’s had drive. I have quite a few programs but they all take around 5 hours which seems a little much considering I can shrink and reburn DVD’s in about an hour. Also some of the rips are limited to what I want such as resizing.

Any help would be awesome.

2. jony218

jony218 Guest

1. rip your movie with dvdfadhddecryter (free)
    2. shrink the rip files with dvdshrink 3.2 (free) and backup to ISO
    3. convert the ISO to divx with fairuse 2.6 (free), that will automatically give you a nice 700mb file.

That's how I always do it. With fairuse you can crop out the black bars of the video, so that it will fill the entire screen. Also the program is very accurate in keeping your video in perfect audio sync.

Getting a quality divx, requires using different programs. As far as a all in one program, I haven't found one that can replace the method I use above.

http://www.fairusewizard.com/lang_en/fairuse_wizard_dvd_divx_xvid_backup_tool_light_edition.html

3. shalegac

shalegac Member

Thank you for your quick reply.

Could I just rip the DVD with DVDshrink or should I use DVDfab first? I have all the programs listed here, I just want to be sure I'm doing it right. Thanx again!

4. jimbozo

jimbozo Member

Shrink can not handle all the new copy protection, That will be why dvdfab was probably suggested as part of the process.