1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Error Message, help required please.

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by woopeedoo, Oct 23, 2008.

1. woopeedoo

woopeedoo Member

Hey everyone,

Noob here, so please be gentle.

I have had my new Samsung R60 laptop for three months now, and in that time have converted and burnt some 200 dvds using converXtoDvd with no problems whatsoever, no coasters, no dodgy jumpiness or anything.
    BUT, now i am getting an error message saying...

23/10/2008 15:02:38 error BURN: WRITE FAILED: Can't find write strategy at sector 16
    23/10/2008 15:02:32 error BURN: Write error at 0 (16) - Code 03 73 03 [Medium error, Power calibration fail (CD-burner is dirty)]

Now as i say, the encoding is all fine, and if i try to burn it with Nero i get an error message too.
    I know it seems obvious, like clean the burner lol.. so i put a lens cleaner through a couple of times, but still no joy. I have only ever put brand new discs in the drive, so it cant be a case of putting a dirty skanked up disc in there.
    The brand of media i am using is Verbatim DVD plus R, RW, 4.7gb, 16x, 120min. And for added info, i only burn at 4x just for better playback results etc.
    So, any ideas what i can do to resolve this? I am desperate as i am running out of hdd space with all these x264 movies grr, bloody HD lol.. and i need to back them up onto DVD, and cant afford to buy another DVD burner or External HDD.
    If anyone requires any further info to help them give me some ideas, please ask.

Thanking you for reading, and keeping fingers crossed!

Woop.

2. IHoe

IHoe Senior member

right click on MY COMPUTER.... go to PROPERTIES...... go to DEVICE MANAGER...... then DVD/CD-ROM DRIVES
    http://img260.imageshack.us/img260/1796/devicemanager2rr9.jpg

and tell me what DVD burner you have?

also:
    [Medium error, Power calibration fail (CD-burner is dirty)]