1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I network xbmc to pc?

Discussion in 'Xbox - General discussion' started by dickalan, Jan 20, 2009.

1. dickalan

dickalan Member

Ok so there are a million different threads on this but they all seem to have different problems with different solutions. So the only way I see my question being answered is if i post. I'm a total newb so you might have to dumb it down for me :) - thanks in advance

GOAL:
    I want to stream video (shared folders) from my pc to xbox media center (xbmc)

Here is my setup:
    I'm using a router. so it looks like this:
    xbox----cat 5-----wireless router-------cat 5------pc/NIC

I can ftp from my pc to xbox and add roms and stuff like that.
    But to do so i have to enable the local area connection/NIC, this in turn won't allow me to use my wireless connection to browse the internet. - don't know why maybe this is related to the problem.

I'm using AID 4.3 so whatever version of xbmc that came with that is what i have.

My xbox settings from evolution x looks like this:
    Type> DHCP
    IP> 192.168.1.104
    Line status> 100/Full Duplex
    Ethernet MAC address> 00:50:F2:4F:BE:58
    setup network> yes
    Use static IP> No
    IP> 192.168.1.104
    subnetmask> 255.255.255.0
    DNS> 0.0.0.0
    The ftp is enabled and the password is xbox

My PC looks like this:
    Local area connection (NIC):
    physical address >00-13-D3-0A-2A-88
    dhcp enabled> yes
    autoconfiguration enabled > yes
    ip address > 192.168.1.100
    subnet mask> 255.255.255.0
    default gateway ______ (nothing)
    dhcp server > 192.168.1.1
    dns server > "

When I'm in the video menu of xbmc I click on 'smb' but it says it "could not connect to network server".