1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Beginners question: ripping speed?

Discussion in 'Audio' started by CrowDrivr, Oct 26, 2012.

1. CrowDrivr

CrowDrivr Member

HI, I just started ripping my CD collection and it goes extremely slowly. The speed is about 1.2X or so, a single half hour CD takes over 20 minutes to rip.

computer: Very state of the art SandyBridge cpu overclocked to almost 4GHx speed.
    software: Cdex.
    settings in Cdex: read sectors 52 (anything higher produces corrupt,silent compressed files). Overlap =7.

CDrvie: generic, not a name brand.

format: OGG (not MP3).

MY QUESTIONS : Is the drive too slow, is that probably my problem? Will buying a faster drive likely help a lot?
    Does VBR mp3 rip faster than OGG (Og Vorbis)?

I think I should be seeing much faster ripping speeds, but I'm new to this, so not sure...

2. Mez

Mez Active member

You will not see vastly faster rips no matter what you do. The process is far, far trickier than you can amagine. For one thing the CDs are not data disks. They are written to foil attemps to rip them.

It is your ripping software. However, 20 min is not all that slow. Make sure your disk surface is as clean as it can be. That will speed the process. A Lame VBR mp3 will probably be slightly superior in quality and is compatible with more applications than an ogg. Lame had massive help (thousands of users) from the audio world debugging the VBRs because they were the first to get close to a near perfect replica of a wave. At the end it was a pefect replica to the human ear. Subsiquent processes do not get 1% of that attention. This effort preceded AD. With hu8nderds of 'also rans' who really cares what artifacts each produces? If persons want to use them who cares? They are probably too ignorant to even notice the artifacts or their play back equipment is too inferior to replicate the artifacts so they can't be heard.