1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer DVR-105 burning 4x takes 40 minutes

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Mulox, Sep 25, 2003.

1. Mulox

Mulox Member

I have been trying to troubleshoot why my Pioneer DVR-105 is so slow burning at 4x. I made sure I patched Nero and flashed my burner's bios before doing my test. Here is the system it's in right now:

AMD 2800+ XP 333Mhz Barton
    Asus A7N8X Deluxe Nforce2
    Maxtor 200gb ATA133 7200rpm 8mb cache
    512mb (2x256) Corsair Platinum Ultra 2-2-2
    WinXP Pro SP1
    Nero 5.5.10.28
    Pioneer DVR-105, firmware v1.33

At first I thought it might be the media, since this is my first time trying to burn at 4x, but I tried 3 different manufacturers (Sky, Princo, and Ritek) and got the same results using Nero... took 40 minutes to burn a full 4.35gb DVD-video disc from the hard drive... WAY too long! In comparison, it takes me about 50 minutes to burn a 1x DVD-R disc using Nero or DVD Shrink or DVD Decrypter.

Anyone have any thoughts on what is causing the severe slowdown? I thought this burner was supposed to burn in about 15-20 minutes for a full disc? Yes, I know it depends on your hardware/software, system config, etc., but I should be smoking with my setup, and this is frustrating!

2. Discmania

Discmania Active member

Well the 1x speed is about right. You could try RecordNowMax instead of Nero and see what you get, but if it's still slow I would suggest the drive is faulty and you would need to take it back for an exchange.

3. Rotary

Rotary Senior member

hi

i dont think its software! i think its hardware issue! must be the flash did it change the firmware ok?

is the formware showing up in nero tool?

before and after flashing what was your 2X speed times? 30mins?? before and after?

Thx_X_X_X_X_X_[small]XP 1700 TBred [o/c 2004mhz = 12X167/33 = FSB-334mhz]
    A7V8X SATA150/RAID 2x80 gig [Bios 1012]