1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Virtualdub (Fixing Audio) !?

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by Slug716, Nov 12, 2004.

1. Slug716

Slug716 Member

When I load some movies in Virtualdub not all a box pops up saying this

[bold]"Virtualdub has detected an inproper VBR audio encoding in the source avi file (audio stream 1) the current preference is to rewrite the audio header with standard CBR values during processing for better compatibility this may introduce up to 18904 ms of skew from the video stream if this is unacceptable decompress the entire audio stream to an uncompressed WAV file and recompress with a constant bitrate encoder (bitrate 128.4 + 16.5 kbps)"[/bold]

Can some one please explain to me what this means and how I can fix the audio step by step

Im new to all this so any help I would appricate

2. aldaco12

aldaco12 Active member

Lucky you! You found a really BIG problem! Luckily it happened also to me and I found the solution (alas, in another forum!) and now I'm able to answer you.

1. extract the .WAV from the movie with Virtualdub. Set Audio X [bold]Full Processing Mode [/bold] then do Save WAV (--> very large - 1 GB - WAV for a movie! But this is necessary or you'll fail if Audio is set on [bold]Direct Stream Copy[/bold])
    2. encode the .WAV file into a .MP2 file with BeSweet (very good compressor. You can use it also if TMPGenc cannot load/decode the movie's audio (generally it happens on MPGs) but you must set Vitutaldub on [bold]Direct Stream Copy[/bold] to extract the .WAV you're unable to decode); it's better for you use the useful BeSweet GUI. You just have to a) tell it where BeSweet it b)select the profile MP2 for SVCD c) tell it which is the file to compress and the output MP2 name).