1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Outlook Express Receiving Doubles

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by nownthen, Mar 17, 2005.

1. nownthen

nownthen Regular member

I don't know what I did wrong with the setup but everytime I receive e-mail I get double.

I have Outlook checking both my ISP e-mail address and my hotmail address. The ISP works fine (no doubles) but the hotmail shows up with double of each message.

Any suggestions on what I should do or a link on information on how to solve my problem.

Thanks for any help!!!

2. venomX05

venomX05 Regular member

I am not a huge expert in Outlook, because I use Thunderbird, but I think I know what is going on.

When you receive your email, I think it is getting duplicated and you are getting like a "carbon copy" also. That is why you are getting the double email.

I would suggest going through all your options in Outlook to see if anything is up and double checking you options through HOTMAIL.

3. Mr_Del

Mr_Del Regular member

Sorry had to edit. Gave you directions for express. Ok Outlook. This behavior can occur if your Outlook profile contains two Internet accounts that both point to the same POP3 server.

To resolve this issue try this: Turn off e-mail reception for one of the POP3 accounts:
    1. In Outlook, on the Tools menu, point to Send/Receive Settings, and then click Define Send/Receive Groups.
    2. Double-click the group that contains the two POP3 accounts, and under Accounts, click one of the POP3 accounts.
    3. Click to clear the Receive mail items check box.

As said by Microsoft.( http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;284404 )

Im having a bad posting day. You forum title says express but your post says Outlook. That is why I am putting the express directions back in:

This behavior can occur if the Pop3uidl.dbx file is damaged

RESOLUTION