1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vhs 2 dvd

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by grawick, Apr 4, 2005.

1. grawick

grawick Guest

hi
    i'm totally new to transferring vhs(pal) 2 dvd. i know that for dvd there are plenty of free software progs for ripping dvd's there appears to be none for vhs 2 dvd. can anyone help me out on this please?
    the other issue is i'm not sure what all progs i need to transfer there is so much jargon that i cant get my head round
    is there some simple softwrae progs that i couls use? and would this compress and do away with copyright etc etc?
    this is a nightmare for me. and being retired i cant go into the hundreds of pounds (UK£) to get mega progs
    hope someone can help me out?
    Not sure whther this is even the correct place to ask these questions. but hopefully someone might pick it up
    thanks
    grawick (newbie)

2. pfh

pfh Guest

One of the first things you need to understand is that vhs is an anolog source whereas dvd is digital.
    That's why software only solutions work when one has a source of dvd he wants to transfer to another dvd.

Vhs on the other hand needs a conversion to digital BEFORE a computer knows what to do with it. Thus the need for some form of computer hardware/software to handle the conversion and use. One can't simply plug his vcr into a computer without passing that signal thru a Anolog to Digital (A/D) conversion.

If that clears things up for you then your search begins on what device to use. Here is a good starting point-http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/110821

3. rebootjim

rebootjim Active member

You are going to have to purchase some sort of A-D device (Hardware).
    Once you have decided which one, there's probably free software to deal with it.
    Being a true cheapskate myself, the cheapest method is a "soft" capture card.