1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

write error

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by mech27, Jul 2, 2005.

1. mech27

mech27 Member

I'm new at this so any help is appreciated. I burned a dozen dvd's with no problem. Now all i get is A Write Error has occured,probably caused by a bad media. I'm using Ridata 8x DVD-R.My dvd writer is an HP DVD WRITER 640c. I'm burning at 1x.what should i be looking for.

2. mech27

mech27 Member

I forgot to mention it will start burning sometimes up to 90% and then it freezes and gives me the error.I'm getting a lot of coasters!!!!

3. Auslander

Auslander Senior member

what are you trying to burn and what programs are you burning with? do you have any error logs to post?

4. andmerr

andmerr Guest

multiposting is frowned upon , just keep your answers to this one and i'll get a mod to close the other

andmerr

5. IHoe

IHoe Senior member

6. mech27

mech27 Member

I'm trying to burn dvd's copy to copy. I don't understand why it would stop working for no apparent reason.I'm using the same discs.
    Is it clone dvd that might be the problem?

7. mech27

mech27 Member

I forgot to write down the error code. Write DVD 10 11 W2

8. IHoe

IHoe Senior member

Listen to me young grasshopper (mech27 that means you!) ....... Ridata disks are second class disks.
    http://www.digitalfaq.com/media/dvdmedia.htm
    check it out here!
    Then get yourself to the store or online and buy Verbatum or Taiyo Yuden disks! You can't go wrong that way! Then burn again and see if you get the same error message!

[bold]RULE OF THUMB[/bold]: if you can rip the movie to the hard drive you can burn it (PROVIDING YOU HAVE GOOD MEDIA)!