1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Book Typing???? Exactly what is it and why

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by eddiechi, Nov 18, 2005.

1. eddiechi

eddiechi Member

I see the option in Nero to book type, Im new at this and did a search on here for it but haven't found a descriptive explanation besides turning a dvd-r into a dvd rom..... why would one "book type" something.... or "dvd rom" something? what uses does it provide?

Thank You

2. MaxBurn

MaxBurn Regular member

I am copying this from Bbmayo's FAQ:
    http://home.comcast.net/~bbmayo/FAQ.htm
    Just remember booktyping can only be done on DVD+R or DVD+RW or DVD+R DL. If you have a -R then its going to stay -R and can't be changed.
    doesn't work on DVD-R, just +R types. I use mostly DVD+R now as i like it to be booktyped to DVD-ROM. Hope that helped. Here is what Nero says when you set booktype;
    [​IMG]

3. eddiechi

eddiechi Member

Thank You, I did a search for this but didn't see the thread you directed me to in my search.........

Ok, so in essance I should only buy DVD+R from now on so I can booktype and should do it to all your backups to insure highest probability of compatibility with stand alone dvd players. Now I see in dvd decrypter it has a few writers listed in there, what to do if your model doesn't appear, I have the sony dru-810a and see Benq in the list in which I read sony 810a is a carbon copy of the benq... at work now so I can't test it, but hope I can try it with my sony.

Thank You

Last edited: Nov 18, 2005
  4. kivory666

kivory666 Regular member

@eddie

well, i have a Sony too, but i have yet to even see the Sony dru-830 that you mentioned you have yet...i've only seen up to the Sony dru-810a (which is a rebadged Benq 1640), but, i have NO IDEA what the so called "830" would be???