1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burning a KVCD as an SVCD ?

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by fizikz, Dec 17, 2005.

1. fizikz

fizikz Member

Hi, I'm really new to burning so please bear with me.

I'm not really sure what KVCD is exactly, but I'm guessing it is some kind of format... Anyways, I have a KVCD file (bin and cue files) that I would like to burn onto a CD. In Nero Express, I selected to make an SVCD and tried to add the aforementioned bin/cue files. Nero said that they are not in the right format; I think it said it wants MPEG 2. Also, the file is about 820MB, which I think would be difficult/impossible to fit on a CD. What are my options; what would you suggest I do? Any help is appreciated.

2. mistycat

mistycat Active member

KVCD is a format intended to be burnt to a 700 MB CD. Just burn as a regular Bin/Cue in Nero Burning Rom and when the option to overburn is shown, select OK and then burn at the slowest speed possible. The burn should complete but give a failure message. The video should play fine. Just ensure you use a 700 MB CD and burn at a slow speed. I just burned a 780 MB file and received these messages and it plays fine.

3. aldaco12

aldaco12 Active member

(I'supposing you're speaking of standard a KVCD, not of a KVCDx2 or of a KVCDx3)
    First, a you cannot convert very successfully a KVCD into a SVCD. A KVCD mpeg is a 352x240/288 (NTSC/PAL) movie encoded MPEG-1 VBR (300-1800 kbps; therefore the use 'KVCD' since a VCD is 1150 kbps CBR).
    A SVCD is a 480x480/576 MPEG-2 movies encoded VBR 1150-2500 kbps.
    Since garbage in = garbage out, don't expect great result.
    In you wished anyway to make this conversion, what would you need to do?

1) VCDGear cue/bin --> mpeg ; with this command you extract the full 'true movie', lat's say movie.mpg.
    2) Your favorite encoder: load movie.mpg and encode it movie_SVCD.mpg.