1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PCLinux or Mandriva?

Discussion in 'Linux - General discussion' started by smg, Sep 2, 2006.

1. smg

smg Regular member

Im a complete noobie so plz beat with me. I want to find a Linux program that I can use for uploading and downloading my MP3s onto...and....
    I want to be able to use my program RecordNowMax for burning DVDs with or
    Do either of these 2 come with a good DVD programs?
    Thank you
    :)

2. dolphin2

dolphin2 Guest

I take it you mean PCLinuxOS?

To what do you want to upload and download mp3s to? Your hard drive? Another device?

Both have excellent DVD burning programs available. One of the best (IMHO) is k3b.

PCLinuxOS is based on Mandriva, so basically, your looking at the same thing.

3. smg

smg Regular member

I wanted to upload all my MP3s onto my hardrive, and then to download them as I needed them into my portable MP3 player for listening.
    Thank you so much Dolphin for the reply, I was so confused about which one to get.....:)

4. smg

smg Regular member

Yes PCLinuxOS is what I meant. Umm....since I am only going to be using it for personal things like Dvds and music, internet, chat etc. and since I am completely stupid about Linux anyway....will the BigDaddy version be ok or should I use the Junior or Minime version? And which version would you suggest for the most stable one?
    Also my new pc is an AMD 64 bit which is what I wanted to use it on. I have heard that 64 bit from windows and the PCLinuxOS is very buggy. Is that true?
    Thanks again very much..:)

5. The_Fiend

The_Fiend Guest

If you're gonna use a 64 bit system, i'd say get Mandriva 64 bit edition.
    Also, you should reconsider at least twice before [bold]installing[/bold] linux,
    as it is a hell of a lot more complicated than windows.