1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SVCD to VOB

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by Chewie, Jul 15, 2003.

1. Chewie

Chewie Guest

My Brother has gave a date cd with a film in SVCD format which obviously can play on my PowerDVD. However recently i have purchased a DVD writer (pioneer 105) and was wanting to conver this SVCD to DVD format to play on a standard PAL DVD player (for my children).

As i am new to SVCD and yes i am an old man i am asking if anyone out there if they know how to do this process? and what software i need to do this. I do have TMPGEnc and the author but confused wether this can be possible.

Also the resolution of this film is 480 by something which i know is already wrong

Thanks.

P.S BC_HYDRO i know how you feel this is giving me a headache as well :(

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 15, 2003
  2. Ibonic

Ibonic Member

3. Chewie

Chewie Guest

Well it does play dvd-r's but wether it plays SVCD or not i STILL would like to convert it to VOB for to play on a Standard DVD player.

Or is there a way to encode this into a avi file for TMPGEnc to convert it that way?

4. ABMone

ABMone Guest

You need a dvd authoring program.

I like Tmpgenc Dvd Author.(not regular TMPGenc different program)

5. Chewie

Chewie Guest

Yeah i tried that but the Author replies to me saying wrong resolution to play on a standard dvd player!

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 16, 2003
  6. ABMone

ABMone Guest

Your gonna need to put in TMPGenc plus
    and put resolution at 720x480
    IF you use the wizard in dvd it will work it all out

if you dont want to do that i think there are some other authoring programs that dont give a damn what format you put in it and it will convert.
    Try dvd architect

7. Chewie

Chewie Guest