1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Philips dvp642 dvd and divX player

Discussion in 'DVD players' started by slovak, Apr 27, 2004.

1. loxdox

loxdox Member

Just got the player, played a few avi's and mpegs I had, one it didnt. Im still learning how to re-encode. I have a MAC so it has been a lot of reading and not much finding. I do have ffmpegx but so far it didnt work. Very happy I got it online at COMPUSA for $50 plus $20 for a 3 year warranty.

I have Toast 7 and NTI Dragon and ffmpegx. What else is good to use? Lastly what is the current firmware? I saw that 1109 is mentioned and on the web but I thought when I checked it said 12 something. I did this

Press “ OPEN/CLOSE” to open the disc tray.
    Press “ 5 6 9” “OK” button on the remote control.
    The software version (VERxxxx) and model (6xx/xx) will appear at the top of the TV screen

Then it mentioned 12 something is that possible?

2. jmikeh

jmikeh Guest

Hello drosoph

The garbled video sounds like customer MPEG matrix encode. The easy trick here is to hit the system button on the remote twice and it should clear up.

Another good utility to use is the Mpeg4 modifier, it will tell you alot about the avi's. Also search around for Lisa B. article on compatibility with divx players. You should be able to find it when googled. It's a great document to have as a 642 owner.

3. rick5446

rick5446 Guest

Lisa B. article..is right here!!I Pasted it here back awhile ago.Just search back by the pages you'll find it

4. pinkygirl

pinkygirl Member

OK Helpppppppppppp i have this player and tried to burn xvid as data with nero. I was told to burn as slow as possible. when i went toplay it it started and then stopped and that was it..... so what is the correct way to burn xvid to cdr ?

5. rick5446

rick5446 Guest