1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burn Avi to VCD?

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by ps357, Apr 10, 2007.

1. ps357

ps357 Guest

hey im a newbie here, does anyone know any Free programs to use to brun AVI files to VCD? thanks in advance

2. aldaco12

aldaco12 Active member

THREAD MOVED

The simplest applications I imagine are:
    - TMPGenc 2.5 free to encode (AVI ---> PAL/NTSC VCD MPG)
    - VCDGear to auhtor a VCD (MPG --> bin/cue VCD image)

The only TMPGenc 2.5 free limitation is the impossibility to load/encode MPEG-2 (thet is, SVCD or DVD mpegs), so it suits your needs.

Last edited: Apr 11, 2007
  3. touran22

touran22 Regular member

hey so if my AVI film is 700mb... after i convert it with tmpeg how big will it be?

4. whassup

whassup Regular member

Use a bitrate calculator to determine how large you WANT your file to be.

5. fandr78

fandr78 Regular member

aldaco12,

Hello, i try your method,but TMPGEnc encodes my movie from a 692MB movie to a almost 900MB movie.I tried many other video conversion programs,but got the same result.Why does it get that big?Man this is so frustrating.I could easy put it on DVD but i dont want to waste a disc for a 692MB movie...Do you have any idea why this is happening?Thanks in advance.

Last edited: May 6, 2007
  6. bulldogz

bulldogz Guest

Hey if your video file size is 900mb then all you have to do is burn it to 2 cds.to do that you will need this software. It's a trial but I think you can use it ten times.Hope this helps!

Last edited by a moderator: May 16, 2007
  7. ukGary

ukGary Member

u could try allok AVI to DVD, VCD converter. It has an easy to use interface and u can select the quality of the output file to match the size of ur disc space.

Great for cramming 2 episodes of lost onto one cd.

8. aldaco12

aldaco12 Active member