1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

controlling mp3 file order

Discussion in 'Audio' started by Creeker, Nov 1, 2003.

1. Creeker

Creeker Guest

I'm hoping someone can help me with this problem. I'm new to burning mp3 CD's, but have burned numerous music CDs. When adding mp3's to the playlist, they always automatically arrange themselves in alphabetical order. I've tried every setting I can think of to avoid this, but nothing helps. I'm sure this is a newbie kind of problem, but I'm at a loss. I've tried Ashampoo and Nero.

2. alxdotnet

alxdotnet Guest

Sorry man. They'll burn to the disc in the order you add them I think, but every program and player I know of will alphabatize. Try adding a number at the front of the track.
    I could be wrong, but I have the same problem and have had no luck with it.

3. Creeker

Creeker Guest

I'm afraid they still burn in alphabetical order. I tried creating a seperate file outside of Nero with the song order I wanted, closing it,then dragging that file to Nero. It still burned in alpha. order. There must be SOME simple way to bypass this annoyance!

4. alxdotnet

alxdotnet Guest

Possibly Nero could be the problem...try using a different burner.

5. Creeker

Creeker Guest

I've done that with Ashampoo and Roxio. Same results.

6. tigre

tigre Moderator Staff Member

I'm not sure if I understand correctly what you did:
    Did you rename the files like
    "Eric Clapton - Layla.mp3" -> "001 Eric Clapton - Layla.mp3"
    adding numbers in front of the filenames in the order you want them?

7. Creeker

Creeker Guest

No, I just dragged and dropped. No numbers or letters added. I'm going to try that today. It seems like a lot of effort just to get songs in a particular order. Well, like I said, I'm new to mp3 burning.

8. alxdotnet

alxdotnet Guest

Here is my guess: