1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

anolog or digital? Plextor or Pioneer?

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by steff3, Mar 27, 2004.

1. steff3

steff3 Member

Hi all,
    Great info, thanks to all!!! I am new to this and want to purchase a new DVD writer. Am back and forth between the Plextor (which in a few weeks will be out with a 12x (+) and 8x (-) DVD. 4x RW DVD, and 48 – 24 – 48 cd r, cd rw, and cd read.
    I read earlier in this thread about the A107 only able to do the audio in analog? If true, does this mean that the audio on a copied movie will not output in Dolby digital or even surround sound? This would be the only reason to go to Plextor if true.
    Thanks again, you are all awesome!

2. ogryzek

ogryzek Member

I am not sure what actually did you see written about Pioneer 107D (digital DVD movie audio being copied only as analog ?...) but it is so far out that I am not even sure how to respond to it. Simple answer is NO. It will (of course) extract and record digital... (unless you want to record from analog output)

Also on the Plextor vs. Pioneer issue. I believe that the question should be rether NEC ND-2500 vs. Pioneer DVR-107D, with the scale tipping slightly on the NEC side.

I have Pioneer 107D and LOVE it. Simple as that.

Last but not least... It is hard enough to get decent 8x blanks, by the time 12x will start appearing the new 16x standard will be ready to ship. If anything I would wait for the dual layer recorders.

3. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

Not quite sure how the NEC is better than the Plextor.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Gigabyte 8INXP, Intel P4HT 3.06
    Mushkin 1024 MB PC2100
    Sapphire 9800 Pro/M-Audio Revolution 7.1
    Plextor PX-708A/Plextor Premium/LTD-166S
    "And we were in our own sight as grasshoppers, and so we were in their sight." Numbers 13:33[/small]

Last edited: Mar 27, 2004
  4. steff3

steff3 Member