1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Must Read b4 Starting a New Thread

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by mastaprk, May 4, 2004.

1. mastaprk

mastaprk Regular member

NOT MEANT TO OFFEND ANYONE, but if I do, sorry! As much as I enjoy helping people that are new to the forum or new to backing up movies b/c I used to be a newbie as well, but read a few posts b4 deciding that you want to start a new thread. Search is always useful and reading some recent posts can usually help as well. Even if I have found some information on the topic that I am searching for, I will sometimes go ahead and start a new thread just to get the most recent infomation or help. Lately I have been seeing the same type of posts w/ people using the same crappy software (ex. 321 Studios X Copy). [bold]Things that should be performed/attempted before you start a new thread and ask another generic question:[/bold]

1. Try DVD Shrink or DVD Decrypter to rip/compress the DVD's.

2. Try Nero 6 or DVD Decrypter to burn the files to DVD.

3. Try to use Ritek G04 media or ProDisc media and avoid large spindles.

4. Try to drop the burning speed if compatibility issues occur or if movie freezes up in certain spots.

5. If you have tried these for the most part (at least steps 1 & 2) and are still having problems, then ask away and start as many new threads as you feel is necessary.

6. If you must start a new thread, then be specific in your problem and provide us with details such as the burner brand/model/format and the media brand/format/burn speed that you are using. Also include ANY information that you feel is relevant even if you think that it may not be contributing to the problem (use your own judgement).

7. Follow these steps and you should be backing up your movies in no time.

_X_X_X_X_X_[small]PC:
    Windows Home SP1
    Biostar M7VIT, AMD Athlon XP 2000+
    1024MB Centon PC2700
    ATI Radeon 9600XT 256MB DDR