1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

please help...I'm a newbie

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by pmac34, May 7, 2004.

1. pmac34

pmac34 Member

I need some dvd backup help. I've been reading through these forums for quite a while now and have decided to dive in. Unfortunately, before doing enough research I bought DVDxCopy Platinum v3.2.1. on the web. Then I realized it was not being supported or even made anymore, but the package had already shipped. I haven't opened the package yet so I can send it back. What do you recommend? I've been reading a lot about DVD Shrink and DVD Decyptor and since these are free and still being updated, it sounds like it might be a better choice.

2. Jerry746

Jerry746 Senior member

Send it back. DVDShrink and Decrypter will do the job better and as you know they are free. If you want to invest in a good backup program, purchase CloneDVD and AnyDVD. They work together and cost about $40. each.
    CloneDVD does the ripping and burning while Anydvd runs in the background as the decrypter.

Jerry

Last edited: May 7, 2004
  3. vurbal

vurbal Administrator Staff Member

Definitely send it back. Try out Shrink and Decryptor first. Starting with good free tools should give you a good idea what's worth paying for. If you're going to do any compression I recommend spending $58 on CCE Basic and using DVD Rebuilder. Like the "one-click" tools it's very newbie friendly, but by using a high quality encoder intead of just removing bits it gives you (IMHO) better quality.