1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where to buy soldering equipment?

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware mods' started by suki24, Jun 18, 2004.

1. suki24

suki24 Member

2. deezp1

deezp1 Regular member

almost anywhere. home depot, walmart, hobby stores, Radio Shack. they are not hard to find. one thing to keep in mind though. if the only thing you are planning to solder is your xbox. go to radio shack and find the lowest voltage soldering gun out there, its better for your mobo!

3. suki24

suki24 Member

appreciate your help......

do you have any suggestions on how I should pratice soldering or any advice when I try to solder..any guide would help too

This is my first time soldering

4. djboogie

djboogie Regular member

All the cheper soldering irons at walmart etc are 110 volts (USA) I think you mean Wattage, not voltage.
    If you really want to get into hobby soldering
    dont get the cheapo walmart etc stuff
    do a search online for weller irons
    can get a VERY good temperature adjustable Weller station to start, for around $60 (they go up to the $100's, but you wont need anything that elaborate)
    Also contrary to opinion, solder braid ISNT the best way to remove solder, get a desolder pump , its far better.
    Get solder that is alreay fluxed (the walmart stuff is fine) But get a little tin of flux pate or liquid, when you "tin" wires, its best to flux them a little first. "TINNING" wires basically means touching a little solder on the wire ends, this makes a superior connection when you solder the wire to wherever your connecting it. In the case of the xbox, forinstance the LPT area, if you are doing a wire install, "tin" the wire, and also the LPT hole that your soldering to, then to solde it, put the wire on or in the solder, and touch the iron on it, you wouldnt need any more solder, the connection would be a good strong one.