1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WMP plays HD content better than MPC. How come?

Discussion in 'Video playback problems' started by Thratchen, Jul 28, 2011.

1. Thratchen

Thratchen Member

I've a Dell XPS m1530 Laptop with a GeForce 8400M GS running Windows Vista Home edition that I use to watch films on my TV. It works fine but the Media Classic Player has always played HD content very badly. So badly that I normally play it in Windows Media Player 11, which works fine.

Could any one suggest why this is and how I could fix it? I've the latest Klite Mega Codec pack installed and this seems to make no difference.

I'm assuming each player is using a different codec so I think I'd like to know how to make the MPC use the h264 codec that the WMP is using. But I'm not an expert.

Any help appreciated

2. mukhis

mukhis Member

have you tried media player classic home cinema? latest version here. choose 32/64 bit version as you need it (portable version also available):
    Code:
    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/audio_video/media_players/media_player_classic_home_cinema_64-bit.cfm
    as far as i know, windows media player does not play any HD file by default unless the format is WMV. to play all HD files in WMP (or any player thereafter), you need codec packages like k-lite. since you are able to play HD in WMP, i am assuming either they are WMV files, or you are able to play as you have k-lite.
    it is likely that you might have installed multiple codec packages which might have created some compatibility issue with MPC. remember, installing multiple codec packages is always dangerous if you don't know exactly what you are doing.

the good thing about MPC-HC is that like VLC, it uses its own codec package or can also use external codecs if you "configure". so compatibility issues are less here.

3. Rikoshay

Rikoshay Regular member