1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Quality Problem :-DV capture via Firewire

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by Sundiver, Jul 28, 2004.

1. Sundiver

Sundiver Member

OK, I'm new to this miniDV camera Sony DCR-HC14E, but as I understand it I should be able to capture in uncompressed DV format thru a Firewire card, but I get rough mosiac pixellation on video and cr*p audio, it's not the camera as I tried it on an Apple laptop and got perfect results. I can capture as Mpeg with latest NeroVision and get ok results.
    Tried all obvious remedies I can think of -
    capture to seperate NTFS 7200rpm drive
    all non-essential services disabled
    several different capture prog's tried (eg MovieStar, Windows MovieMaker, Ulead, & Nero etc..
    all current XP-home(SP1) updates installed
    1Gb ram, Ath.XP2600, defrag'd drives, with & without pagefile enabled.....

So "HELP!" please any ideas, is there maybe some sort of DV-codec problem- and if so how do I diagnose/rectify ?
    Thanks in advance for any usefull suggestions.

2. dkaiser

dkaiser Member

I have the same problem. I am using a Sony DCR PC110. and capture thru firewire. It is like the video size is to small.

3. shorty2k

shorty2k Member

correct me if i'm but, i think the problem is that its not DV25, infact isnt that microMV?

if so the microMV uses mpeg2 compression instead of normal DV25 (ie 5:1 compression ratio)

mpeg2 is heavly compressed, although it may look ok on a TV set (due partly to the lower resolution of the TV, 625 scan lines and 50Hz interlace scan {Usually}) on a laptop or PC you will see the artifacts more aparent

a normal miniDV tape is aprox 11gigs of data and those microMV tapes are 60% smaller hence lower stoarge capacity hence more comression = worse quality, and the pros say that even DV25 (with is 5:1) compression is "too compressed" !!