1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burning VHS's to DVD's

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by VG11489, Aug 2, 2004.

1. VG11489

VG11489 Member

Hey all

Im a noob at copying vhs's to dvds but copying dvds and games and such I know. What I wanted to know is what I need to copy a vhs to dvd. What software do I need (also the steps to copying the vhs with this software)and if I need any hardware. I know that I will need a tv capture card which I have,a ATI AIW 9800 Pro and also I have a VCR lol I heard that you would need a microvision hack coughcough link cough. I wanted to know where do I connect the VCR to. Is it that purple cable connecter box which has the s-video and composite connections. And I just connect it to the VCR right. And also if there is a do it yourself guide that relates to the videocard and what im doing then post the link. I will be copying home movies and also movies I bought.
    I need all the help that I can get

thx

VG

2. Minion

Minion Senior member

Well You can use the "ATI Multi-Media Center" also called MMC software that came with your Card to capture directly to Mpeg2...

You have to capture to Mpeg2 useing a resolution of 720+480 for NTSC and 720+576 For Pal, and a Mpeg1 Layer 2 audio Sample rate of 48000HZ ..

The Video bitrate you would use would depend on the Length of the Movie you are Putting on the DVD..If the Movie is 90 minutes you would use a Video Bitrate of about 6500kbs and an Audio Bitrate of 192kbs..For a 120 Minute movie you would use a Video bitrate of about 4850kbs and an audio bitrate of 192kbs...

You would just make a Custom Capture Profile in the ATI MMC Software useing these settings and capture the Movie to your Hard drive...

After you have the Mpeg2 file captured you will have to put the File on to DVD so you will need a DVD Authoring Program to do this...