1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1080p output for games not working

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by tyler1993, Nov 20, 2007.

  1. tyler1993

    tyler1993 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have a non-HDMI Xbox 360 that is connected (via component cable) to a new Onkyo SR605 receiver. The receiver has the ability to convert component inputs to HDMI output. My television is a 1080p Panasonic plamsa.

    When I choose the "1080p" resolution selection on the Xbox 360, it goes blank, and then goes back to 1080i. I have not updated the "system update" since I bought the system back in Dec 2006.

    Does the Xbox 360 have the ability to output 1080p over component? I thought I read that it did, but when I try, I get a blank screen. If I update my "system software" to the May 2007 update, will that fix the problem?
     
  2. DavGerm4

    DavGerm4 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You will need to update the sytem! 1080p for the 360 didn't come out until about 6 months ago (or something like that)! You need to update your system, and then try it!

    Other than that, your TV may not support 1080p because my Dad bought a HDTV and he thought it had 1080p, but when I went to set the xbox 360 to 1080p (through the component) it didn't work!
     
  3. newcloud

    newcloud Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    im not sure but i heard the xbox game dont work at 1080p
    because its not on a HD disc
     
  4. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    That's wrong. The type of disc has nothing to do with the output.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2007
  5. tyler1993

    tyler1993 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks. I will update and try again. My TV is definitely 1080p (Panasonic TH-50PZ77U). I just got it because I was using a 720p Panasonic plasma (TH-50px60u) for my game machine, and wanted a full 1080p so i moved the 720p 50" panasonic plasma to my bedroom (yes, yes, I know I really won't notice THAT much of a difference).

    Of course my 360 dvd-rom drive busted, so waiting for the new one from ebay.
     
  6. newcloud

    newcloud Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sorry about that but as i said i wasnt sure
    i guess what i heard was wrong
     
  7. tyler1993

    tyler1993 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I am NOT connected via Xbox Live. I plan to download the latest system update from the Xbox.com site. I believe the latest on the site is the May 2007 update. Does anyone know if another system update has been released post-May 2007?
     
  8. dxm997

    dxm997 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well, I have TH-42PY700P and the situation is the same as yours. The 1080i works flawlessly but when i try 1080p the screen goes blank. Though answer in my cause is pretty simple - after reading the tech specs of the tv i found out that the 1080p is only supported through hdmi. Check your tv. It might be the same problem.
     
  9. tyler1993

    tyler1993 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i'll check...however i am running the components through an Onkyo SR605 that converts to a 1080p signal. i have an HDMI from the Onkyo to the Panasonic....so...shouldn't that work?
     
  10. dxm997

    dxm997 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Please note that I'm really a novice in this domain but my understanding is this - the component cable is able to produce 1080p but the tv can only _accept_ the 1080i on the component, but it can accept 1080p from hdmi.
     

Share This Page