1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

16 bit windows subsystem error

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by conan6972, Oct 18, 2004.

  1. conan6972

    conan6972 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I’ve been having trouble every time I try to open file from my CDs. I am using MS Office Professional and Windows Xp. What ever CD I try to run gives me the following message: 16 bit windows subsystem: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUTOEXEC.NT. The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft windows application. Choose ‘close’ to terminate the application. What should I do? Please advise….
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    how are you accessing the cds, throu windows explorer, my computer or what & the same program the same time
     
  3. conan6972

    conan6972 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have tryied it from windows and my computer. I think I might have to reinstal windows. Because, it was not doing this about 2 weeks ago when I used the same CD.
     
  4. forkndave

    forkndave Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    I had a similar problem once. Several programs (old mostly) started giving me this message when I would attempt to run them. My "D" drive used to be my "C" drive and still had Windows on it. I copied the file AUTOEXEC.NT from my "D" drive to C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ and that fixed the problem. Apparently the file had became corrupted. You may be able to get this file from your Windows CD or you may have to reinstall Windows. I would try first to just install Windows on top of itself. Then you'll have to install all the updates and newer drivers again. Good luck.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Soyo KT-600 Ultra Platinum, XP 3000+, 1024 MB PC 3200
    160 GB Maxtor SATA, 250 GB Maxtor SATA
    Lite-On LDW 411S@811S, Lite-On SOHD 167T, Pioneer A07
    GF FX 5600 Ultra[/small]
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2004
  5. conan6972

    conan6972 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I thank all of you who have helped me on this little glich. I think the problem got solved. I went TO C:\WINDOWS\REPAIR to my windows and repair folder. I copied and pasted the AUTOEXE.NT file in the SYSTEM32 folder and now it is working like the way it should be.

    Thank you all

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUTOEXEC.NT.
     
  6. raredawg

    raredawg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    please help me out on this issue it is driving me crazy i have done the cmd turned echo off and you name it i done it (help me out ) or i got to restore windows i have put the windows disk in to help but the disk will not work my problem is 16 bit sub folder , error messege c:\windowsc\system32\autoexec.nt. the system file is not suitable for running ms-dos and microsoft applications
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2004
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    raredawg, same problem as in conan's???
     
  8. raredawg

    raredawg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    you have any suggestions
     
  9. forkndave

    forkndave Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Why don't you try what conan6972 did? Copy the file autoexec.nt from your C:\windows\repair folder and paste it into C:\windows\system32 folder. Let it replace anything that's there. I copied it from another hard drive, but I see it is there in the windows\repair folder.
     
  10. Xian

    Xian Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  11. raredawg

    raredawg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    what if i dont have the xp disk
     
  12. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    raredawg, can you get copy of same version
     
  13. raredawg

    raredawg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i dont know anyone with a disk can someone send me the file in email
     
  14. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    than how did you get xp on system
     
  15. raredawg

    raredawg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    the disk was sent from alabama and was sent back
     
  16. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    reardawg:

    If you dont have the XP CD, PM me with your email address and i will send you the three required files that you need to expand to get this working.

    CJC
     
  17. nathan296

    nathan296 Guest

    im getting C\windows\system32\autoexec.nt could you send me the file i need to fix it dont have the Cd here my master_system_override#yahoo.com
     
  18. ericfairc

    ericfairc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am having the same problem. The 16bit apps work fine when autoexec.nt is pasted into system32 but the file disappears after rebooting.

    Anyone know what's causing it to disappear?

    thanks
     
  19. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    run anti spyware such as adaware6 & your antivirus program
     
  20. raredawg

    raredawg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have done everything there is to do even reinstalled windows still got the problem does anyone know how to format c:\drive in xp pro
     

Share This Page