1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

213watt power supply 220volt to 110v?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by chriswhit, Jul 21, 2012.

  1. chriswhit

    chriswhit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have 220v 213 watt power supply and I live in the US. I was wondering if it can be converted to 110v. I'd just buy a US power supply but the 213 watt is hard to find and I cant use a 203 watt for my application. I'd say more bout why I need the 213 watts but I'm not sure its okay to do so on this forum. I've looked a bunch for info but haven't found much. I'm hoping its possible where I need multiple power supplies. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am also looking for a side car with cables for one of my systems. thanks
     
  2. JST1946

    JST1946 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If the primary winding has a center tap on it you can just use half of the primary winding and input 115 volts.
     
  3. chriswhit

    chriswhit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thank you for the quick response. I'll check it out in a bit. Hopefully I'll be in luck. I did have it apart to glance at it yesterday and its encased in aluminum with some kind of stick on foil which I'd have to peal for access so I figured I should ask first.
     
  4. JST1946

    JST1946 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have re-wound transformers windings before it takes a little patience to do it but it can be done.You just have to remove the old winding and measure the length of it then re-wind it with just half of the length. You just have to make sure the wire is of the same gauge so it doesn't burn up.


    http://youtu.be/6vHGK6QNWQQ
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2012
  5. chriswhit

    chriswhit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thats a good idea. wonder if all the stuff before the transformer will work ok. The psu is a lot bigger than a regular 360 brick and has a aluminum case all around the inside guts. just got that apart (microsoft loves to use a white glue that resembles silicone). Thinking I might pop my 203 watt apart to see how different they are. At a quick glance the wall cord has 3 prongs and a tab so a 3 prong pc plug wont fit. Maybe I should wire a 240 volt outlet though I'd like to use it where ever I like. Thanks for the response I'm gonna try to get the rest of the aluminum case off to see if I can follow traces from the plug and see whats before the transformer.
     

Share This Page