1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3.40 OE-A Black screen

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Mod and firmware discussion' started by ExternalX, Aug 20, 2007.

  1. ExternalX

    ExternalX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am running 3.40 OE-A on a PSP, which i purchased with this firmware on. I have no recovery on it, and do not know properly how to run this...

    I have put iso's and cso's on the PSP and they play fine, however some such as worms, GTA:vice city, MGS PO, and harry potter result in a black screen once they are selected. I have been informed that by going into the recovery of the firmware i can make them work, but as i dont have a recovery, I am not sure what to do. Any help would be cool

    :D
     
  2. Shokz

    Shokz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    All CFW has a recovery menu.

    You'll have probably heard this but:
    1) Hold the power button up for around 5 seconds to turn off your PSP fully.
    2)Hold down the R trigger.
    3)Turn your PSP back on, whilst still holding the R trigger.
    4)Carry on holding the R trigger until the recovery menu shows.

    If you really don't have a recovery menu, then upgrade your PSP to 3.52 M33, changing firmware should add the recovery menu.
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2007
  3. shanemb

    shanemb Regular member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if you have 3.40oe-a then you do have recovery mode,start by completly turning your psp of by holding the off button up for 5 to ten seconds, now turn it on while holding the R button down,now you should be in recovery mode, are you???
     
  4. haasmon92

    haasmon92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Isn't that what shokz just said?
     
  5. shanemb

    shanemb Regular member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    by 2 minutes,i just gave an answer,clicked post reply,and his was there before mine,obviously we replyied at the same time.
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2007
  6. Shokz

    Shokz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Finally that happens to someone else! (Im always posting replies just after someone else has said the same thing, it get's annoying)
     
  7. kikzm33z

    kikzm33z Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Upgrade to M33 then automatically downgrade to 3.40OE-A. 3.52M33 is horrible because of it's rubbish name.:p.You should keep 3.40OE-A if you still like dark_alex.I know someone will say something about me so go ahead :D.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2007
  8. kikzm33z

    kikzm33z Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    srry for double post(if it counts as i posted the other message 4 days ago)but i wanna tell you to keep 3.xx M33 even if you do like Dark_AleX.I found out that he has a bit of work done in M33.sorry for off-topic reply but i just wanted to say so.
     
  9. Shokz

    Shokz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    LOL, OMG double post!!! Stop changing your mind!!! ;)

    Hehe, yea, M33 is probably best (still can't get it to work right with me though lol)
     
  10. kikzm33z

    kikzm33z Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    how come it doesnt work on you?
     
  11. Shokz

    Shokz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I can't get any homebrew to work.
     
  12. BrendanL

    BrendanL Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What kernel do you have it set to? Gpsp works perfectly for me on kernel 3.52. Maybe you should switch to kernel 1.5 and see if homebrew works.
     
  13. kikzm33z

    kikzm33z Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    hah, i think shokz would've tried that as i know he's not a noob.u should get it fixed or try upgrading your firmware to 3.40OE-A again.
     
  14. Shokz

    Shokz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Hehe, thanks, and yea, i'm back 3.40 OE-A, though i've got a flash0 for M33 if i wana switch quick for anything.

    And also, he's right, i've tried what you suggest before many times, and more, but thanks anyway :) emulators work, usually, it's just homebrew games and stuff.
     
  15. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Id like to know whats up with some users having issue going from 3.40 OE-A to 3.52 M33.

    I was helping a guy last night that was having issues. He updated to 3.52 M33 from 3.40 OE-A and nothing would work for him either.

    I then told him to recover to 1.50 then go to 3.52 M33 but every time he did that nothing would work + he couldn't enter his systems settings.

    He then went to 3.40LE and everything worked fine. He then tried to go to 3.52 M33 from 3.40LE and the systems settings worked again but nothing would run.

    So he went back to 3.40LE.

    I went from 3.40 OE-A with my sons PSP to 3.52 M33 with no issue at all.

    Was wondering myself what causes these issues for others.
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2007
  16. haasmon92

    haasmon92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yea, I'm not sure but I heard that you can have some problem's if you upgrade directly to M33 firmwre's from OE's. If you are having trouble, recover to 1.50 and then try to upgrade to M33. Tha should fix any problem's that your having with M33. When my PSP worked i cpouldn't get a theme to work and after i had recovered to 1.50 and upgraded from 1.50 to 3.52 M33 my theme worked fine. So try that and if anyone is still having problems, then I'm not sure. Good luck tho!
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2007
  17. kikzm33z

    kikzm33z Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    yeh..i was helping some guy with his 3.52m33-4...it couldn't load anything.then he want back to 3.40OE-A and everything worked fine!i think 3.52m33-4 has some bugs that works on different psp's.idk if i'm right.i'm just saying what i think.
     

Share This Page