1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

360 DVD Drive Not Recognized

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by memnoch20, May 3, 2009.

  1. memnoch20

    memnoch20 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,

    I'm trying to flash an Hitachi drive. I'm using CK3 Lite for power and connecting to the PC with SATA. The problem I have is I can't get the drive recognized. I have tried in XP and Vista with Port IO drivers installed. The motherboard is an Abit IP-35 Pro so it doesn't have a serial port but I thought I only needed the SATA. Thanks for any advice.
     
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. leerage

    leerage Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,847
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You are correct in only needing S-ATA for Hitachi. Your onboard S-ATA might just not be compatible. Maybe try another S-ATA port. If not you'll be needing to spend 15$ on the VIA S-ATA card with the 6421 chipset.
     
  4. memnoch20

    memnoch20 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Doesn't look like my SATA is compatible. I have two eSATA ports for a JMicron RAID that I will get a cable for and try. If that doesn't work I will get a new VIA card
     
  5. memnoch20

    memnoch20 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I connected the DVD drive to eSATA and it now appears in BIOS however it will not appear in Windows. Is there anything else I can try before buying a new VIA card? Thank you.
     
  6. steo2k8

    steo2k8 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    It has to be put in mode b, in JF go to the hitachi tab and press send mode b, otherwise it won't show up under windows.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2009
  7. gameover9

    gameover9 Guest

    You need the via card if it's not showing up in windows.
     
  8. memnoch20

    memnoch20 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I quit messing with my onboard SATA and got a $12 VIA card. Jungle Flasher picked it up right away. I was able to dump the key but will wait for iXtreme 1.6 to flash.

    Thanks for your help.
     

Share This Page