1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

360 HDMI, HDTV component cable not working

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by treezy, Jul 25, 2009.

  1. treezy

    treezy Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hello all, i have a 360 hdmi version that i recently bought.
    the component cables (HDTV) do not display video only audio. on the other hand the HDMI cable works great.
    ive tried lowering the settings to 720p,while using HDMI and no fix
    my hdmi cable is way to short and can not use at this time
    is there something wrong with the xbox?

    thing i have done :

    used another cable

    hooked hdmi xbox to another tv with mode set to TV instead of HDTV using the Yellow video wire and it worked.

    used the first cable to another NON hdmi xbox and it worked

    problem only occurs when i use HDTV component (blue,green and red)
    on a HDMI xbox.

    Thanks in advance any help would be greatly appreciated.
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. modmyxbox

    modmyxbox Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    your probably conneceting the cables wrong.
  4. chris4160

    chris4160 Guest

    Just to clarify, are you using this cable:
    [​IMG]

    If so, make sure the toggle is set to hdtv, and the format is selected on the xbox 360. It may be a faulty cable.

    Edit: You're using a full hd tv, right?
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 26, 2009
  5. homesick

    homesick Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    i agree you are either putting the cables into the back of the tv wrong, (make sure you can match up the colors(i.e. dont do it in the dark) or the jack on your tv is bad.
  6. desmet9

    desmet9 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    One thing I noticed is that with my arcarde console the component cables will not work no matter what...hdmi cable an composite cables work fine. So if you have an arcade console don't sweat it just get a
    10ft hdmi cable.

Share This Page