1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3870 tempurature monitoring

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Freekman, Jan 24, 2008.

1. Freekman

Freekman Regular member

i have the msi overclocked 3870 and i installed all of the drivers and everytyhing yet in no programs that i use can i see the temps not even catalyst control center shows them, does this gpu just not have a thermometer or is there a solution
    tanks

2. Freekman

Freekman Regular member

also how low is to low in terms of tempurature cause i got my cpu at 14 degrees C right now, how much do you think i could overclock that to it is a 64 X2 4600+ at 2.4

Last edited: Jan 24, 2008
  3. Waymon3X6

Waymon3X6 Regular member

To your first question, you need to enable overclocking by clicking on the "key" in the catalyst control center, which unlocks the overclocking controls and shows a speedometer type dial with your temperature readings under it.

You can also use RivaTuner...

To answer your second question, AMD processors get real hot on load, so although your idle temp may be low at stock, just by increasing the FSB can add an extra 10C onto your temperature.

BTW, what program are you using to monitor your temps?

4. Freekman

Freekman Regular member

i know that that is correct i am using speed fan butt it is because i have my window open and my pc is relatively close to that(it is very dry outside so dont worry)

5. Freekman

Freekman Regular member

k thanks worked
    but how can i get the 3870 to show up in speed fan the sensor is not listed

6. Waymon3X6

Waymon3X6 Regular member

You cant. Speed fan only monitors the CPU, HDDs, and ambient temperatures. You need to monitor it with ATi tray tools, rivatuner, or using the CCC.

7. Freekman

Freekman Regular member

o well
    i had it using my nvidia card before

8. Freekman

Freekman Regular member

also does rivatuner show cpu and all that good stuff aswell