1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3com 3c589d -tp etherlink111 lan pc card

Discussion in 'Other PC hardware' started by ballybo, Apr 4, 2013.

  1. ballybo

    ballybo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello, pc.. Compaq Armada E500.. windows 2kp..this pc card with RJ-45. http://www.cqout.com/show.asp?u=http://195.224.149.148/SB/3Com_3C589C_tp.jpg is loaded and drivers installed (no longer have disc) device manager says ..this device is working properly yet there is no light on the adapter and hence no internet connection. I have changed settings to see if that would help and this is strange, when I set the transceiver value to.. TP (RJ-45).. Local area Connection Network cable unplugged pops up! and when I change the value to the other option.. Coax (BNC)..Local Area Connection connected Speed:10.0 Mbps pops up!.. but still no connection to internet, router working and cables secure. Don't know what to do at my wits end can you help please . Kind Regards.
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,658
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    router or modem? what browser?
  4. ballybo

    ballybo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    not sure I understand, my broadband supplier sent me a wireless modem/router from which I connect to blade and kryptview via rj45 ethernet cable and wireless to my other laptop, does that help?
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,658
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    what browser are you using?
  6. ballybo

    ballybo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    .internet explorer.
  7. ballybo

    ballybo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello again, I have a Thomson TG585 V7 wireless router and the Compaq has internet explorer 5 installed, thanks.
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,658
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    have you tried resetting internet explorer & why are you using ie5? no unknown devices in device manager?
  9. aldan

    aldan Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2013
  10. ballybo

    ballybo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ..its my brothers not been used for a while, thought I would get it connected for him, no unknown devices in device manager, will I be able to connect to internet?
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,658
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
  12. ballybo

    ballybo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ..that's good to know, do you know how and what adjustments I have to make? I really need your help, thanks.
  13. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,658
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    try resetting internet explorer in "internet options\advanced" in control panel.
  14. ballybo

    ballybo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ..the only option in advanced is restore defaults..there are loads of boxes with ticks for eg. always send URLas as UTF-8, and enable folder view for FTP sites etc. no option for reset.
  15. aldan

    aldan Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    that is the same as resetting.
  16. ballybo

    ballybo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi, same machine different specs. the os is w2kp, system type x86-based PC and yes a stubborn old dinosaur, but how do I connect to internet, I have restored defaults in IE to no avail, can you help please, thanks.
  17. aldan

    aldan Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    does it work with an internet cable?
  18. ballybo

    ballybo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    like I said at the beginning rj45 from router to lan pc card, but its not making an internet connection.
  19. aldan

    aldan Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    what i mean to say is what did the computer have for a wired internet connection before? this looks like an addon but correct me if im wrong.
  20. ballybo

    ballybo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ..no this is the only connection available,no rj45 port and one usb, I don't know what's blocking the lan connection and Im not sure a usb wireless connection will work with w2pk, do you know what is blocking the lan connection when it says "this device is working properly"?
  21. aldan

    aldan Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    im wondering if that os and or your computer even support that card.kinda getting out of my element here. where i live you can buy a better laptop with an ethernet jack from the pawnshop for 50-100 cdn.im thinking that even if you could connect to the net you would grow old waiting for it.not meaning to be discouraging tho,perhaps someone in the know could chime in here.

Share This Page