1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4.2U Wii wont load many Homebrew apps

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii' started by scarfaceg, Nov 25, 2009.

  1. scarfaceg

    scarfaceg Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey i have a friend on msn i did a webcam chat and helped him softmod his wii it all wen successful but the problem is they cant access many homebrew features he can access like anyregion changer and 1 or 2 more thing and thats it he cant even load the wad manager dol 1.3 or the latest update of it is there a fix to this problem i really feel bad that he couldnt get it working properly emulators wont load on it either we really need to get this working i will really Appreciate any help even if its only a little bit of help.
    Thanks
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. jonjon95

    jonjon95 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Its because the majority of those apps use IOS249. When Nintendo released 4.2, they installed what's called a "stub" IOS249. This means that whenever you try and load a homebrew app that requires IOS249, you'll get a black screen. What you need to do is delete IOS249 and reinstall it with cIOS38 rev14b.

    Assuming you've already installed BootMii and TBR,

    Here's How: (From WiiHacks.com)

    1) Download and extract this file. http://www.mediafire.com/?5wgnmyy5wve Password: "www.wiihacks.com".

    2) Copy everything in the "Place to SD 4" Folder into the root of your SD Card.

    3)If you already installed BootMii, Wadmanager should start.(On ios select, select ios36)

    4)Select SD card and press A to continue.

    5)Select ios249 from wad folder and press A

    6)change the action to "uninstall wad", press A

    7) Exit the installer and head back to the Wii System menu. Take out the SD card and delete the files you copied from the "Place 2 SD 4" folder.

    8) Download and extract this file. http://filetrip.net/f5958-cIOS--installer-38r14.html Copy the "cIOS38r14_installer" folder to the Apps folder on your SD card.

    9) Load HBC then select cIOS38 rev14b. Select to load IOS36 when it asks. Let it install, wait till it says: SUCCESS PRESS ANY BUTTON TO RESTART WII.

    10) Load a homebrew app that didn't work before.

    11) Be astonished as the app successfully loads...
  4. darksole3

    darksole3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    This sounds like what I ran into. When I attempt to load a app it gives me a black screen and freezes the system. Im going to try this.
  5. scarfaceg

    scarfaceg Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thabkyou so much but my friend has trouble with PBR it gets errors and i gave them step by step tutorial from youtube video
  6. scarfaceg

    scarfaceg Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    will it matter if TBR didnt install properly?
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2009
  7. darksole3

    darksole3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey when I did this on the
    Installing Custom IOS line I got a Install ERROR! (ret = -2011)

    How ever everything works
  8. jonjon95

    jonjon95 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  9. scarfaceg

    scarfaceg Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yeah i only just found out we needed the modded TBR for it to work not that long ago thanks anyway
  10. scarfaceg

    scarfaceg Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey we did the youtube video tutorial but at 1 of the steps wen we tried installing the IOS it said install failed not a trucha bug or something like that it says so if we still uninstall IOS 249 will it still be safe?
  11. scarfaceg

    scarfaceg Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    umm i followed ur tutorial but it freezes wen we put ios 249 only wen its 249 if its anything else it doesnt freeze how can we fix this problem?
  12. jonjon95

    jonjon95 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You should not have followed my tutorial if you hadn't already done TBR. SO we'll start over. Now, you still need to do the TBR. I will help you as much as I can, giving you what you need to know for the time being.

    Okay here we go:

    Step 1: The TBR-MOD (I'll be using the SAME steps as the video in the previous post)

    1) Download & extract the TBR-MOD app (download link in previous post)to your apps folder on your SD Card.

    2) Run it on your Wii. It will boot and ask you which IOS to load. Its default is IOS36. Hit A.

    3) Wait for the program to state "Hit 1 to continue" near the bottom of the text. Hit 1. Go down to "Downgrade IOS15" using the down arrow on the D-Pad. Hit A. It will prompt you to select a download method. Select "Download from NUS" using the right arrow on the D-Pad. Hit A.

    4) After a couple of second it will prompt you again for a download method, select "Download from NUS. It will prompt to start Part 1 of the the installation. Hit A. Then prompt you for Part 2. Hit A again.

    5) Once its finished, hit any button and it will return to HBC. Load TBR-MOD again. Select IOS15 to load. Hit A. Wait until it displays the message and Hit 1. Select "IOS36 Menu".

    Set these Settings:

    Install IOS to Slot: 36 (default)
    Patch Hash Check (truch): YES
    Patch ES_Identity: YES (optional, for Preloader)
    Patch Nand Permissions: NO (optional)


    Once Set, hit the VERY first option which says "Install Patch IOS36" Select "Download from NUS" as the download option. It will prompt you for installation, Hit A.

    6) Once it displays the message, hit any button to exit. It will boot back to HBC. Load TBR-MOD for the last time. Select to load IOS36. Select "Restore IOS15". Then as the download method select "Download from NUS" It will prompt you for installation, Hit A.

    7) Done. Once it displays the message, hit any button to exit. If you get any errors, state WHEN (state the step number) and WHAT it says. Once you've done this report back and here and say that it was a success.
  13. scarfaceg

    scarfaceg Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thats exacly what we did but it said something along the lines of saying its not trucha install failed on the last step of trucha MOD i dont get it and ever since then the wad managers freeze wen choosing IOS in step 5 is where it says install failed saying its not trucha i better double check on that im not sure im not 100% sure if its step 5 or the part when we restore i better check up on that sorry
  14. jonjon95

    jonjon95 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Make sure that you loaded IOS15 in step 5, selected "IOS36 Menu", and you selected "Patch Hash Check (trucha): YES"

    Those are the only things I can think of that would make it say that in step 5. If it happened when restoring IOS15 that would be quite odd and puzzle me, o_O Compare what you did with the video in the previous post and see whats different.

    ~ Jon
  15. scarfaceg

    scarfaceg Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok thanks a lot for helping me out i'll try again very soon
  16. stallio95

    stallio95 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    same thing happeed to me but I still get black screens
    can any1 help me please?
  17. jonjon95

    jonjon95 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    @ Stallio95: Sounds like you didn't do the TBR. Follow directions above or follow this guide: http://sites.google.com/site/completesg/hacking-guide/trucha-bug-4-2

    @ Scarefaceg: You may also have a look at that guide if you need more help than I am giving you... At this moment, I can't tell if your TBR installation was successful. (Don't do this next step if you know it was successful) We're going to try a new method that hypothetically should work but may not to achieve the same result as TBR. We're going to use DOP-IOS MOD to try and install a trucha signed IOS36.

    Download Link: http://filetrip.net/ajax.php?action=download&id=8734

    1) Extract and copy the "Dop-IOS MOD" folder to your apps folder on your SD card like any other app. Run it on your Wii.

    2) When it asks which IOS to load select IOS36.

    3) Navigate using the D-pad to IOS36 (yes find it again and it may be set to IOS36 already as default) Hit A 3 times to confirm all patches. It will install and once you are back to the main DOP-IOS MOD screen, hit HOME to return back to HBC.

    Post back here if you've had any problems and report for further instructions
  18. scarfaceg

    scarfaceg Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    lol i already have that app i use it now ad then its my friends wii i been trying to hack so it could be difficult to find out exacly what it says since we doing it over msn
  19. hrolf

    hrolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  20. hrolf

    hrolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i tried to run tbrmod and had issues so i did the dop-iso mod and it worked so i went back to do this step and in step 6 after i click to uninstall the wad i get an error message stating
    delete tickets...error (ret=-1017
    deleting title contents...error (ret=-1017)
    deleting title... error (ret=-1017)
    press any button to continue

    where did i go wrong
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
  21. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    If anyone wants to try a different guide I created a 4.2 softmod guide yeasterday which is in my sig.

    TBR has updated to version 1.11 which is 4.2 compatible and uses newer IOS versions then it did before. I use the updated TBR in my 4.2 guide.
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2009

Share This Page