1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

40gb PS3 not backwards compatible?

Discussion in 'PS3 - Modding & Hacking' started by systemtc, Dec 20, 2007.

  1. systemtc

    systemtc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i put a ps2 game in my ps3 and it basicly said it does not support ps2 games... is there any way to change this?
     
  2. cee43ja1

    cee43ja1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    only way to get backwards compatable working is trading in the 40gig for a 20, 60 or 80gig (preferably a 20 or 60 as they have the EE chip; higher compatability).

    the 40gig has no ps2 backwards compatability, whatsoever.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2007
  3. systemtc

    systemtc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    is it possible to put a chip in the 40 gig?
     
  4. cee43ja1

    cee43ja1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    no. sony removed the EE and GS chip from the 40gig models to cut production costs down; those two is what gives the backwards compatability.

    the 80gig only has the GS chip. the GS chip can emulate the ps2, and sony is providing higher compatability with the system updates.

    the 20 and 60gig have both EE and GS. the EE chip is the processor used in the ps2, so the compatability rate is even higher than the GS chip alone.


    the EE and GS chips is not for sale, and only sony has them.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2007
  5. vegeta999

    vegeta999 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hmmm, Well thats very true thanx for that. But atleast PS1 games still work. Better trading it in for a 20GB but the disadvantage is no Wifi i heard.
     
  6. same3r

    same3r Guest

    umm...guys just a quick question can i play games imported frm america on my pal ps3??
     
  7. escalante

    escalante Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You mean PS3 games or PS2 games? I'm not too sure, to be honest.
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2007
  8. marcusita

    marcusita Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
     
  9. Anthogno

    Anthogno Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    dont forget that european units have no hardware compability at all. we have limited 40gb that doesnt do anything at all and 60gb that uses emulation software
     

Share This Page