1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4x burner only burns at 2x!!! What do I need to change

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by bridq, Aug 29, 2003.

  1. bridq

    bridq Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I was wondering if anyone can tell me why why sony DW-U10A only burns at 2x when I use programs like easy cd creator 6 or Nero 6. I click on the drop down box to change writing speeds, but 2x is the maximum setting for both programs. Is it my hardware or the program I need to change? I'm writing on Fuji Film DVD-Rs that are 4x writable. Can anyone help me out? Thanks.
     
  2. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  3. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Sony strikes again
     
  4. bridq

    bridq Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    herbsman I tried that link you provided, but still didn't find the answer I was looking for. all those guys seemed to be concerned about is changing their firmware to dru-500. I didn't see anything that told me how to burn from 2x to 4x on my dw-u10a.
     
  5. koola

    koola Guest

    Use 4X media, if you do then you need to upgrade your firmware or get a hacked version!
     
  6. Baldguy96

    Baldguy96 Guest

    hey Bridq. Me too. I have a A10 U that I upgraded to 500A then did the update on that. but I still can't get it to burn at 4X in Nero 6.0. Did you ever figure this out??
     
  7. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
  8. bridq

    bridq Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    baldguy, going to try what rotary posted. hopefully it will work. thanks rotary for providing that link. Hopefully it will work and I can burn at 4x. the dw-u10a is supposed to burn at 4x, why don't they just enable it to do so in the beginning? why do we have to go through all this red tape to burn at 4x; which is what it is supposed to do in th first place. baldguy, try it out and let me know if you have any success.
     
  9. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi all

    no problem! we'll all here to help out where we can! i have the pioneer dvr106d myself but i did a search for you guys and thats the link above, hope it workss out - let us knkow your finding!!!!

    thx..
     
  10. bridq

    bridq Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Rotary, thanks again for you help man. I successfully flashed my dw-u10a to a dru 500 a from that link you showed me. But when I tried to burn a disc it did not close the disc successfully at the end. I flashed back to dw-u10a firmware. I think it might have been the media I was using. I'm using fuji DVD-R discs. Before they used to say 4x on the package, not it doesn't say what speed they are on the package or on the discs. Is there anyway I can find out how fast I can burn on those discs? Thanks again for you help.
     
  11. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi try this!

    also do a search on afterdawn main page!

    http://pioneerdvd.rpc1.org/ADVDInfo.zip

    have you got nero set to multision? you need no multisesion!

    thx..._X_X_X_X_X_[small]XP 1700 TBred [o/c 2004mhz = 12X167/33 = FSB-334mhz]
    A7V8X SATA150/RAID 2x80 gig [Bios 1012]
    HERCULES 3D PROPHET [9700 Pro]
    XMS Corsair Platinum pc3500 2x512 1024 meg
    ENERMAX PSU 550watts
    [​IMG] [/small]
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2003
  12. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Run DVD Info to see.
     
  13. bridq

    bridq Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    How do I run dvd info?
     
  14. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Rotary has supplied you with a download for it in his post before mine (never noticed that before)
     
  15. bridq

    bridq Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I tried running dvd info, but i got an error message. It says, "Can't load ASPI32 DLL Make sure ASPI for win32 is installed"
     
  16. Minion

    Minion Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    5,768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Well I have a sony DW-u10a, But I upgraded the Firmware to the DRU-500a and then Upgraded the Firmware to 2.0f and I have no Problems burning 4X media on Nero, But I have only tried useing DVD+R"s haven"t tried any DVD-R"s at 4X....
     

Share This Page