1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

5mbs modem 4kb bit torrent

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by ptt, Mar 8, 2005.

  1. ptt

    ptt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey guys this has probably been brought up already but i can't find it anywhere, i've been looking all over the place. well anyways i have a 5mbs modem from Rogers and when i dl off bit torrent i only get around 4 kb. off normal ftp and http sites i get at the least, 650kbs, which i find very strange. i've tried forwarding my ports, opening the half-open ports allowed by xp pro sp2, absolutely everything, but they don't work. my cousin, who lives around the same area, has a 3mbs connection and gets over 150kbs on torrents, which i find even more strange. i was wondering if anyone knows what's wrong, and if it could me my isp that's blocking ports from my modem, and if it is how do i fix it?
     
  2. c4iscool

    c4iscool Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    most likely it's not on your end. try downloading the same torrents your coz is downloading. It could be that the torrents u download have no people sharing the file. If that's not the problem post back.
     
  3. ptt

    ptt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yeah i've tried that right now im download devil may cry 3, and have 15 seeds and a lot of leeches, but im only downloading at around 5kbs now. i was reading on a forum that a guy only had 10 seeds and downloaded at 290kbs, that's insane!
     
  4. c4iscool

    c4iscool Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    r u behide a firewall or router?
     
  5. ptt

    ptt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i've got a router and forward the ports from 6881-6999, and i turned off the firewall.
     
  6. c4iscool

    c4iscool Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    if u have xp service pack 2 u have a firewall on in the background. It's in the security center in the control panel. turn that off.
     
  7. c4iscool

    c4iscool Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  8. ptt

    ptt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks c4iscool, i know that sp2 has a background firewall and as i said before i turned it off, i am now going to try and follow the instructions from the site that you gave me, hopefully that will be the answer. thanks again
     

Share This Page