1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8800 GTX locks up

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Navi89, Apr 29, 2007.

  1. Navi89

    Navi89 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just got it, after about 10 minutes of game play the game either locks up, or the computer shuts off completely. I've played oblivion, fear, and quake, they all lock up. Is there any way to test a video card?
     
  2. marsey99

    marsey99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  3. pcrepair

    pcrepair Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    8800gtx check the 2 card box

    most likely a power issue :)
    but check for excessive heat from the card
    should be warm but not cooking
     
  4. Navi89

    Navi89 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a 600w power supply, my GTX only needs 450w.

    What does "8800gtx check the 2 card box" mean? I don't think it's heat cause my GTX runs around 60 degrees.

    Also, I have a aquarium screen saver, and I just discovered after about 10 minutes of that it locks up too. Is there any way to test a video card like you would test ram or a HD? I need to know if it's a bad card or something else.
     
  5. pcrepair

    pcrepair Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    a 600 watt hiper will push out 600 watts
    a generic 600 watts will fail at about 450 sustained watts
    is your psu light or heavy
    heavy is good

    next is go to start right click my computer click manage then event viewer then systen look for red dots with an x should tell you the problem
     
  6. Navi89

    Navi89 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's a generic PSU. I checked out my event viewer and I do have many red dots. What does this mean?
     
  7. ffg7

    ffg7 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    check in the bios the next time this happens for hardware monitor or something like that to see what the cpu temp is as sounds like a heat problem.
     
  8. Navi89

    Navi89 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How do I "check in the bios the next time this happens for hardware monitor" ?

    I don't think it's heat cause it usually runs around 60 degrees. I've ever seen it at 56 degrees.
     
  9. ffg7

    ffg7 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    check your manual & if that temp is for the cpu then you are to hot. should be in the 30's or 40's.
     
  10. Navi89

    Navi89 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's not my CPU thats 60 degrees, it's my GPU, I know cause I use ATI tool to monitor my GPU temp.
     
  11. Navi89

    Navi89 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a 2 questions.....

    1) Does it matter if I put my 8800 in the 2nd PCI-E slot? I can't get it in the 1st slot with the MOBO I'm using, it's too big. I read somewhere that it won't run at full 16x. Any truth to this? Is there any way to see if I'm getting the full 16x ?

    2) My PSU does not have 2 6 pin power connectors. I'm using the ones I got with my 8800. There are 3 plugs on these cables, do I use all 3 or 2?

    See pic here... http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/7158/6pcieuvbbsk6.jpg

    Thank you.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2007
  12. ffg7

    ffg7 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what is the make & model# of the motherboard so we can see what you have especially the slots?
     
  13. Navi89

    Navi89 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm using a Asus P5N32-SLI Deluxe
     
  14. pcrepair

    pcrepair Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Won't matter if you use the bottom slot it's still 16x

    use all you can mines only got two sockets for power
    the more power leads the less strain

    you probably need a good psu tho the heavier the better
     
  15. ffg7

    ffg7 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  16. Navi89

    Navi89 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  17. Gspoon

    Gspoon Guest

    Navi89

    What Brand of GTX did you get?
    Yes use Both of the 6 pin connectors?

    Have you checked on new Forceware Drivers and\or Bios
    I would update the Drivers First and see if that helps
    Flashing the bios also helps but do it only if you have to.

    For Forceware Drivers Go to
    http://www.nvidia.com/content/drivers/drivers.asp
    I think Release 158 is the most current

    Gspoon
     
  18. Navi89

    Navi89 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Gspoon.... I actually got a new PSU and that took care of it. Thanks though.
     

Share This Page