1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

99 Minute CD-Rs?

Discussion in 'CD-R(W) Media' started by CAR8624, Nov 24, 2004.

  1. CAR8624

    CAR8624 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I recently got CD-Rs in Ebay. It was suppose to be 99minute 890MB.

    But here's what it says on CD-Idenifier:

    ATIP: 97m 26s 07f
    Disc Manufacturer: Fornet International Pte Ltd.
    Reflective layer: Dye (Short strategy; e.g. Phthalocyanine)
    Media type: CD-Recordable
    Recording Speeds: min. unknown - max. unknown
    nominal Capacity: 702.82MB (79m 59s 71f / LBA: 359846)


    Is it me or isn't it suppose to be 99Minute/890MB??
     
  2. djscoop

    djscoop Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I've used the 90 and 99 minute CDRs a few times when I've wanted to combine albums and whatnot, and I've always been able to use them to their full capacity. It also depends what you use to burn with. In Nero, you have to enable the over-burn feature, and make sure your drive is even compatible to burn 90 and 99 minute CDRs. My Lite-On does them with no problem. I'm not sure what the cd-info specs read before I burned them, but you shouldn't have a problem provided your burner will support it. When you pop in a regular 80 min. CDR it usually doesn't add up to 80 mins/700 megs anyways.
     
  3. CAR8624

    CAR8624 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes - I have Nero and yes my burner is compatible for overburning [current one is 89:75 minutes??][However I will get a DVD Burner that is compatible for 99 minute].

    But anyways so the information that CD Identifier is wrong/misleading? Along with the package, they stated that Nero's InfoTool will display oversized CD-Rs as 79:59 minutes. So Overburning must be used. Does that apply to CD Identifier also?

    Thanks for replying.

    =>CAR8624
     
  4. djscoop

    djscoop Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    yes, I beleive the CD IDentifier just doesn't read them properly. I don't think nero factors in the over-burning feature when its just reding the info on the blank CDR. I dug up a blank 90 min CDR, and Nero reads it as 79.57.04, 703 megs, so basically a regular 80 min. have you tried burning yet? I think the most I burned on a 99 minute was 95...I was too chicken to go all the way in fear of destroying my burner.
     
  5. CAR8624

    CAR8624 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    At the compatibility website, my current CD Burner [LG CD-RW CED-8120B] could burn 99:59. I have not test it yet but is there anyway to test it before doing the actual writing [or there got to be a risk]?

    But either way, I am getting a DVD Burner for sure that is compatibile with 99 Minute CD-Rs [stated on some other website with review].

    =>CAR8624
     
  6. djscoop

    djscoop Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I suppose you could do a simulation burn to test, but other than that the only way to find out if it works is to burn one. Good luck.
     
  7. CAR8624

    CAR8624 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    After setting Nero for overburn [and checking that my recorder could overburn] - I've tried the simulation. But it keeps asking me to insert a larger disk. What else should I do? Should I take the risk and try burning?

    =>CAR8624
     
  8. djscoop

    djscoop Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    well, I never simulated the burn, so nero probably just thinks its too small. my guess is to just try and burn it. at least they aren't that expensive. I think I got a 10 pack of 99 minutes for like $8.
     
  9. CAR8624

    CAR8624 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    After setting the Nero with Overburn feature, it keeps asking me to add in a disc larger than 700MB. I've tried simulation and then I tried the actual writing - but no luck. What gives?

    =>CAR8624
     
  10. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey

    When you enabled Overburn, did you make sure you set the Maximum CD Size to about 100 mins

    CJC
     
  11. CAR8624

    CAR8624 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Just now, I've set Nero with 100 minutes of overburn [and of course this is selected as a feature to do]. However it still gave me the same message [insert larger disc]. Before that, I set Nero to overburn untill 99:59 [because in a compatibility website - it stated that my burner needs to be burn at that point].

    Also to point out - I've tried Disc-At-Once. What else do I do in order to Overburn??

    =>CAR8624
     
  12. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I take it your trying to burn Audio CD ?

    How many minutes of Audio are you actually putting on the CD.

    Try cutting it down to about 96 mins of audio and see if that works.

    CJC
     
  13. CAR8624

    CAR8624 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Nope - I am creating a data CD.
     
  14. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok thats your problem.

    With 90 and 99 min CD's it means it can take up to that in Audio, but the standard 700mb Data.

    CJC
     
  15. djscoop

    djscoop Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    yeah I didn't realize you were doing data, I've only done audio with the 90 and 99 min CDRs
     
  16. CAR8624

    CAR8624 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I see. Okay whatever because since I'm just going to backup my data. Oh well - I was about to buy CD-R anyways =p

    Thx for helping

    =>CAR8624
     
  17. pabmove

    pabmove Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey guys, I'm having the same problem as Car but I'm not burning data or audio but VCD. I've have an "avi" file which is about 700mb but when I load it in nero it gives me a figure of 850mb (no idea why) anyway, since I hate splitting the movie to 2 discs i want to try an overburn it onto a 900mb cdr. SO far i havent had any success as nero just ask me to put a larger disc in. It says that my 900 mb disc is a normal 700 mb.

    This is the first time I've used larger capacity CD's so will my 900mb disc always be read as 700mb by ANY CD identifier? or have I've been ripped off and brought 700mb instead of 900mb

    anyway thx for your input :)

     
  18. CAR8624

    CAR8624 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    For all CD Idenifier, all states [putting in the 900MB CD] that it'll have 702.82MB [and not 900MB]. However, I believe the ones I got [and your CDs] are for audio only [though my CD cannot be played on CD players at all].

    Ehh seem deceiving at first because of it has 900MB + 89 Min of Audio. What they really mean is that the overburn is only for Audio [and 900MB is just a cap off just in case a music that has a hugh file does not cap off 89 min - but that's what I thought].
     
  19. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey

    Once again its 99 MINUTES not 900mb...

    So you can put up to 99 minutes of Audio or 99 Minutes of Video, but not 900mb of Data, up to 700mb of data.

    CJC
     
  20. pabmove

    pabmove Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok let me get this straight before we all go round in circles. there are no CDr's with 900mb or there abouts to store data on the market?

    how come i've brought some CD-R 100 and it does say on the label 100min 900MB? - cant be for audio only right?

    heres the website of the company that manufacters my CDr's- www.e-blue.jp
     

Share This Page