1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A+ Certification

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by bicuspid, Mar 28, 2007.

1. bicuspid

bicuspid Guest

Hello, new to the boards. I'm in a course right now in order to prep for the A+ certification. I have been working with computers for about 8 years now; granted, by working, I mean killing my computers and learning, as well as fixing everyone else's around me who know nothing of computers on problems I have had or think I may be able to fix. I have been in this a long time, but not extremely deep into it. I have a good knowledge of computers, can fix many problems, but when compared to, well, many folks on this board, I'm a novice.

To the point; I am looking for the best resources to get in depth on what I need to know for the A+ test. I have the CompTIA books, the class, and a few other books. My issue is that a lot of the stuff in these are things that you would never remember. 3 pages simply dedicated to charts that give you detailed info on processors from the 8086 - Pentium premium edition. Info like core voltage, I/O voltage, # of transistors, integrated FPU, but for 33 different processors. This might sound like a weird complaint, but they then test you, and ask you for specific info on a specific processor during the chapter review, and to remember all 4 bits of info on 33 different processors (not to mention the other 40 or so charts in the book, and the other 40 or so in book 2) is unrealistic. I am looking for something, site, book, etc, to coincide with the info I get from the books and class that will set me specifically on the info I really need for the test, and what I should be remembering.

Sorry for the long winded explanation of a simple request. Thanks in advance.

2. Blackjax

Blackjax Regular member