1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A Complete Guide: Loading Backups with Action Replay Max (no modchip required!)

Discussion in 'PS2' started by jjax, Jan 21, 2006.

  1. ramzah

    ramzah Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks again but I must clarify that I am unable to use the USB method as neither of my FAT32 formatted USB Sticks display any .max files when I view them on MAX Memory. I would imagine that I need the official Max USB dongle or as stated in the first post of this thread that certain editions have removed functions of other USB devices.

    Unless I am missing something the Live disk / Installer disk seems like the only solution.

    Regarding "INSTALL_EXPLOIT.ELF", yes I am able to find and execute it however during the installation I get the pink border and it stalls.
     
  2. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ok I understand... I just thought you meant it couldn't see a certain type of file on the usb.

    Not sure what to tell you why the exploit stalls.

    You could try cleaning your laser as you said your backup had "stutters" at the beginning.

    If the exploit keeps stalling, then I would suggest you burn an ISO image of uLaunch, launch it with cogswap and then follow the fmcb 1.8 guide

    Read the 1.8 guide and noobie guide for 1.8
    http://bootleg.sksapps.com/tutorials/fmcb/

    It will explain what files you need to download and how to place on your USB drive, and on how to install.
     
  3. ramzah

    ramzah Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah it could be my laser however my other non backup ps2dvd runs fine so Im guessing perhaps its the quality of the disk I used or the burn method.

    Ill try running a FMCB Disk from my cogswap.

    Update: Unfortunately I cant run the disk either since the cogswap defaults to PS2CD and putting in another PS2CD Disk and hitting X doesnt display the USE COGSWAP message but in fact just runs the disk.

    Ill try investigating from the USB option since I can browse some files using the ULaunch.ELF
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2009
  4. od2001

    od2001 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  5. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Last edited: May 23, 2009
  6. od2001

    od2001 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    cool thanks for your help.........i thought you need max evo though?
     
  7. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
  8. od2001

    od2001 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11


    cool thanks again for your help!! think i'll order that...i;ll let you know how it goes
     
  9. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Cool, look forward to hearing from ya.
     
  10. aniMEanie

    aniMEanie Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have ARMAX evo edition and my ps2 model is SCPH-90004 modded with matrix infinity(1.93).

    I tried doing the MC exploit(fmcb 1.8) using the armax but it seems in my version of ps2 it doesnt allow that exploit to b done. wen i run the elf a blank screen shows up and thats it :(

    Is there any way for me to make any MC exploit? I need it for running usbadvance w/o disc.

    Thanx in advance.
     
  11. od2001

    od2001 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    turns out i couldnt order from that site for some reason!
    just wondering what you think of
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Datel-Actio..._4?ie=UTF8&s=videogames&qid=1243161316&sr=8-4

    its the older one in the non metalic case.
    Also is this the version of xploder v5 people use?i know people have difficulties using this and i wouldn't have access to the x link!would you order that if i couldn't get action replay?

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Xploder-V5-..._1?ie=UTF8&s=videogames&qid=1243161580&sr=1-1
     
  12. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    First off your SCPH-90004 would have to have a DATE CODE of 8b for it too work.
    FMCB 1.8 will not work on 8C or higher.

    Also FMCB 1.8 does not work with all modchips even if it does install.
    You would have to disable the chip once its installed to be able to use it.

    But with your Matrix Infinity you can use Dev1 mode - launch elfs from the memory card.

    Guide is here for Matrix Infinity - http://sksapps.com/index.php?page=matrix/matrix_tut.html
     
  13. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Sorry I can't say for sure if that would be the correct Armax or not too buy.

    Xploder V5 is hard to use to install fmcb 1.8 unless you have the x-link cable.

    There is a tutorial in this forum using Xploder and xlink cable.

    You would be better off to find Swap Magic or Codebreaker (Codebreaker works for exploit if your PS2 is under V14 as usb support does not work on V14 and higher)
     
  14. aniMEanie

    aniMEanie Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    CHecked the date code; its 8B. so ther's still hope i suppose :)

    Well, the problem is that its not even installing. in the armax evo's media player when i run the free_mcboot.elf file i simply get a blank screen.......
     
  15. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Sorry I forgot you said you used Armax. I don't believe its compatible with Matrix Infinity.

    Just download an ISO image of uLe and use it to browse to your usb drive, then install Free_mcboot.elf.
     
  16. aniMEanie

    aniMEanie Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I used the ule 4.38 dvd iso and installed fmcb successfully.
    Thank u so much; I dont know wat i wud've done without u :p

    1)Anyway, can i still use the exploited memcard as a normal memcard (for saves etc)?

    2)Also, i did the exploit mainly for running usbAdvance. Unfortunately the usbadvance elf didnt get copied into the memcard during the install. So right now i'm using the uLe copied thru fmcb and booting usbadvance.elf frm my pendrive. Is there a way to get that elf file too into the memcard ?(initially i put in the install folder like i did with uLe).
     
  17. aniMEanie

    aniMEanie Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    nevermind, seems the usbadvn.elf file did get copied to the mc. It just didnt show up on the initial menu. I used uLe to go into the mc and it was ther.
     
  18. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    YOur welcome..

    1) Yes the memory card can still be used for all regular stuff - saves

    2) uLe is great for filebrowsing the memory cards, usb drives, copying gamesaves etc.
    Great guide on it here - link

    So you figured that part out already.Cool.

    You can also use the Free MCboot configurator to show "usbadvance" in the Sony Browser

    Its in the 1.8 tutorial guide.

    Just go the "hacked osdsys" section and follow the directions there.
     
  19. aniMEanie

    aniMEanie Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah, didnt need the tutorial; its not tht complicated actually.. anyway i set it up properly and now usbadvance also shows up in browser.

    Thank you, sincerely for being helpful and quickly replying to my requests. Seeing your handiwork in almost every thread in this section, I wonder if ther is anything at all about the ps2 that u dont know :p
     
  20. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Your welcome..I am sure there is lots I don't know, lol.
     

Share This Page